Click to turn the page

PARIS

By District

DAY 1

From Opera to Montmartre

Opera Garnier

A Masterpiece of Second Empire Architecture

Expand

It all began when Napoleon III was nearly assassinated on his way to the Pèletier Opera on 14 January 1858. It was then decided that a new opera house was going to be built in a safer and cleared space. The decree of 29 September 1860 selected the project of Charles Garnier. The edifice, designed in the context of the great "haussmannian" breakthroughs (Haussmann’s big street openings) required major underground consolidation works and led to the demolition of an entire neighborhood. The foundation stone was laid in 1862 but the palace was not completed until 1875 because of the Commune and the war against Prussia. Being a great lover of the opera, Garnier was openly inspired by famous opera theaters such as La Scala in Milan and he projected an exceptionally massive staircase to welcome the public in great pomp, to the detriment of a bigger hall. Furthermore, the aesthetics were the most important, so out of the 2200 seats of the hall, over a hundred of them have reduced visibility, mainly because of the monumental chandelier, as Garnier says "a room without a chandelier is like a forest without trees". The first floor, decorated with Corinthian columns, houses a loggia which is the Grand Foyer and offers a magnificent view over the whole square. The ensemble is dominated by a large glass roof that corresponds to the room whose ceiling was painted by Chagall in 1964. The legend of an underground lake has been maintained by the famous novel by Gaston Leroux : “The Phantom of the Opera”. Nevertheless, there is a water tank built under the Opera : it serves to stabilize the foundations and as water supply in case of fire. Finally, as fun fact, the roof of the Paris Opera is the setting for the beehives of Jean Paucton, whose production is sold as delicatessen.

address
Place de l'Opéra
75009 Paris
access
Métro Opéra L 3 ,7,8
opening_times
From 10 am to 5 pm
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 75 25 24 23
website_url
https://www.operadeparis.fr

Galeries Lafayette Paris Haussmann

The French Chic !

Expand

The Galeries Lafayette were established in 1894 by two cousins, Théophile Bader and Alfonse Kahn. The latter had just bought a little frippery shop on the corner of the streets Lafayette and Chaussee d'Antin, at the confluence of the grand boulevards, the Opera House and in the area of the Saint Lazare. The store underwent numerous expansions, first towards Lafayette Street, and then towards Boulevard Haussmann. It was around 1910 that the store started to transition to the luxury field, its activity nowadays equally as dedicated to many foreign customers. Because of the many changes it went through, the façade on Boulevard Haussmann has a composite appearance with its polished red and black granite, in the Art Deco style. Some traces of its original decoration are still visible on its side on the Rue de la Chaussee d'Antin. Originally, the store's interior was organized around two halls. It is still topped by a large dome, made between 1906 and 1908 by the architect Chanut to give the impression of an oriental souk. The curved balconies were made by Louis Majorelle.

address
40 Boulevard Haussmann
75009 Paris
access
Métro Chaussée d'Antin-Lafayette L 7,9
opening_times
Monday to saturday from 9:30 am to 8 pm
phone_number
+33 1 42 82 34 56
website_url
http://haussmann.galerieslafayette.com

The Escape Hunt Experience Paris

A unique experience based on the classic “ escape the room”

Expand

Detectives, trying to solve one of the two puzzles ! Would you choose a pursuit in the metropolitan or a crime in a cabaret ?

The Escape Hunt Experience Paris

A unique test of your wits ! The Escape Hunt Experience Paris offers a true “experience” where you are transported to another era and play the part of a famous detective trying to solve a unique mystery. As a team, you play against the clock in one of our rooms to solve the challenge and thereby find your escape. Our adventures last around 90 minutes – after a short briefing you play your 60 minute game. Afterwards, you can chat about your experience. Your own dedicated multi-lingual game master can play with you and help as you need.
All adventures are available from 2 to 5 players
Preference booking online.
Prices : from 24 to 33 € / person depending on number of players.

address
5 rue d’Hanovre
75002 Paris
access
Métro Opéra L3,7,8 or Quatre Septembre L3
opening_times
Everyday from 10am to 10pm
phone_number
+33 1 75 50 62 60
website_url
http://paris.escapehunt.com

Restaurant Paparazzi

Nice terrace near the Opera

Expand

The Paparazzi restaurant, made entirely of dark wood, is sober, contemporary, chic and unadorned. There are only hints of colour and large pop art portraits that seem to stare at you. Above the tables hang the original lamps with plastic strips. You can taste the pasta of course, as well as the large (huge) crispy pizzas, sitting in front of large bay windows so we can take a maximum advantage of the view. You can also taste the Parma ham, the zucchini foam, veal and mozzarella.

address
6 Square de l'Opéra-Louis Jouvet
75009 Paris
access
Métro Opéra L 3,7,8
opening_times
From 12 am to 3 pm and from 7 pm to 0:30 am
price
Between 25€ and 50€
phone_number
+33 1 40 07 92 56

The Madeleine Church

Vivaldi, Mozart, Albinoni... and Gospel Dream alternately

Expand

This Parisian monument is better known as " The Madeleine" and is located in an area to which it gave its name. But its story, like the one of the capital, was filled with twists and turns. Indeed, the project of a church dedicated to Mary Magdalene appeared in 1757, when the architect Gabriel built the Place de la Concorde, which the church was meant to crown. However, it was only a large construction site when the revolution broke out. In 1806, Napoleon gave it its present appearance by destroying the entire building in order to construct a temple to the glory of the army, mirroring the Palais Bourbon ; after this, the church found its original vocation under the Restoration in 1828. The architects Alexandre Vignon and Jean-Jacques Huvé gave the Madeleine its current shape, the one of a Greek temple measuring 108 meters long and 43 meters wide and with a height of 30 meters. It is surrounded by 52 Corinthian columns, giving it a monumental aspect. As for the pediment, it was made by Philippe Henri Lemaire, while the niches around the church shelter statues of saints made by the main sculptors of the time. The Madeleine church was consecrated in 1842.

address
Place de la Madeleine
75008 Paris
access
Métro Madeleine L12, L8, L14
opening_times
From 9:30 am to 7 pm
price
Free access
website_url
http://www.eglise-lamadeleine.com

Passage du Village Royal

A Charming Passageway of the 18th Century

Expand

On the ground on the edge of which stood the barracks of the musketeers of King Louis XIII, in 1746 an uncovered passage, bordered with food stalls, was built : the Aguesseau market. It became a prosperous and pedestrian village within the city getting bigger over time and history ; this passage changed its name into "Berryer city" in 1877. And in 1992 major renovations were conducted, respecting the original layout and architecture of these places in order to create in 1994 the present day Royal Village, where the stalls were transformed in luxury shops and where the Christmas decorations give this place a magical atmosphere. Between Place de la Concorde and Place de la Madeleine, through the Royal Street, how to resist not making a detour through the village…

address
Cité Berryer
75008 Paris
access
Métro Madeleine, Concorde L8,L12
opening_times
Monday to saturday from 8 am to 8:30 pm
website_url
http://www.villageroyal.com

Place Vendôme

The Most Luxurious Square in Paris

Expand

This square is named after César de Bourbon, Duke of Vendôme, the son of Henry IV and Gabrielle d'Estrées who lived there. Originally named Square of Conquests, it was commissioned by Louis XIV to Hardoin Jules Mansart in 1685 and it was meant to be an echo of the Victories Square and to host an equestrian statue of the King (destroyed during the French Revolution). It has taken its present form only in 1699. These luxurious houses inhabited during the Regency by the powerful financiers, are now home to major jewelers, banks and the Ritz. It should be noted note please that at Chopin died in 1849, at no 12. On the other hand, the balconies of the square are a hymn to the glory of Louis XIV. Indeed, all are decorated with an allegory of the sun covered with gold leaf. Finally, at No. 13, on the left of the Department of Justice, you can see one of the standard meters that have been affixed after the revolution in order to allow the French to become familiar with the new unit of measurement.

address
Place Vendôme
75001 Paris
access
Métro Tuileries L1

Bar Hemingway

Reopening of the Mythic Ritz's Bar !

Expand

Cole Porter would spend up to 9 hours a day in the Hemingway Bar : he's said to have composed "Begin the Beguine" here. F. Scott Fitzgerald had his favorite seat. Ernest Hemingway and Gary Cooper made it the epicenter of their life in Paris and would sit and talk for hours. The legend has long since been written - but here, it comes back to life every night. Head Barman Colin Peter Field's incredible creations are a reference for cocktail lovers all over the world. And while guests flock to this warm, intimate alcove to see what he's shaking up, they also return, again and again, for the heady, arty spirit that still lingers in this magical place. The night begins and ends at the Ritz Paris.

address
15 Place Vendôme
75001 Paris
access
Metro Concorde L1
opening_times
Everyday from 6pm to 8pm
phone_number
+33 1 43 16 33 74
website_url
http://www.ritzparis.com/fr-FR/…

The Jacquemart André Museum

"Caravaggio's Roman Period" Exhibition

Expand

These extraordinary canvases from major Italian museums—such as the Galleria Nazionale in Palazzo Barberini, the Galleria Borghese and the Musei Capitolini in Rome, the Pinacoteca di Brera in Milan, the Musei di Strada Nuova in Genoa, and the Museo Civico Ala Ponzone in Cremona, not to mention the prestigious loan of the Lute Player (1595-1596) from the Hermitage Museum of St. Petersburg, presented in France or the first time. Nine Caravaggio will retrace Caravaggio’s Roman period from 1592 until he fled into exile in 1606. They will be complemented by the works of leading contemporary painters, such as Cavaliere d’Arpino, Annibale Carracci, Orazio Gentileschi, Giovanni Baglione, and José de Ribera, in order to highlight Caravaggio’s innovative genius and the artistic effervescence that reigned in the Eternal City at the time.

From 21 September to 28 January 2019
Open every day from 10am to 6pm. Late night opening on Mondays until 8 : 30pm.
Full rate : 16 € - Reduced : 13 €

The Jacquemart André Museum

This charming mansion was built between 1869 and 1875, at the initiative of the collector Edouard André, to shelter his collection. Together with his wife, Nélie Jacquemart, renowned portrait painter, they both dedicated themselves to this collection, mainly centered around the 18th century and the Italian Renaissance, being careful that the works would be kept together with their antique furniture. When her husband died, Nélie Jacquemart donated the Hotel and its collections to the Institute of France in order to establish there the Jacquemart André Museum.

address
158 bd Haussmann
75008 Paris
access
Métro St Philippe du Roule L9
opening_times
From 10 am to 6 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 45 62 11 59
website_url
http://www.musee-jacquemart-andre.com

Musée Nissim de Camondo

The atmosphere of the eighteenth century

Expand

In 1911 Moses of Camondo, coming from a powerful family of bankers and grand collectors, decided to have constructed a residential hotel on the model of the Petit Trianon. It was the architect René Sergent that was entrusted with the construction of this reconstitution of an artistic residence of the 18th century. Hence, each room was studied depending on the woodwork or the painted panels that were supposed to emphasize it. The hotel is delimited in 3 distinct levels, one for the domestic service, one for public life and one for private life, with all the modern comfort of the period, as central heating or elevators. At his death, the count of Camondo gave his hotel and his collections to France in remembrance of his son Nissi, who died during World War I. The museum houses today major pieces of the 18th century art, of which we remind the bird service, in porcelain of Sèvres.
Photos Les Arts Décoratifs

address
63 rue Monceau
75008 Paris
access
Métro Monceau L2
opening_times
Wednesday to Sunday from 10 am to 5:30 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 53 89 06 40
website_url
http://www.lesartsdecoratifs.fr/francais/…

Le Wagon Bleu

A Fine Restaurant in an Orient Express Wagon

Expand

An old wagon from the legendary Orient Express, an enigmatic bar, a bistro cuisine with Corsican keys, you'll understand that this place is unique !

address
7 Rue Boursault
75017 Paris
access
Métro Rome L2
opening_times
Lunch from noon to 2. On sunday till 3:30 Diner from 7PM to 11:30PM. Bar till midnight and 2AM during Weekend
phone_number
+33 1 45 22 35 25
website_url
http://www.wagonbleu.fr

Moulin Rouge

Féerie Show

Expand

“Féerie” consists of : a troupe of 80 artists, including 60 Doriss Girls recruited world-wide ; 1000 costumes of feathers, rhinestones and sequins, made in the most famous Parisian workshops ; sumptuous sets in shimmering colours, uniquely designed by Italian artists ; outstanding international acts, and the awaited return of the giant aquarium ; all this performed to original music recorded by 80 musicians and 60 chorus singers.

Show only : from 92 €

Moulin Rouge

The Moulin Rouge is undoubtedly one of the most famous monuments of Paris, one of the most magical places. It was founded in 1889 by Joseph Oller and Charles Zidler, who were also behind the Olympia in 1893. Ever since, the evenings at the Moulin Rouge illuminated Paris with their enchantments. And with good reason, mythical Stars performed there, such as La Goulue (the queen of Cancan), Valentin the Boneless, Colette, Jane Avril, Mistinguett, Jean Gabin, Yves Montand and Edith Piaf. The whole Paris crowded there. Artists were inspired by this place ; Toulouse-Lautrec went there every night and drew, with his famous glass of absinthe. So there is a long tradition of excellence that leads today to variety shows in the purest cabaret style performed by outstanding artists.

address
82 boulevard de Clichy
75018 Paris
access
Métro Blanche L2
opening_times
Show at 7 pm, 9 pm and 11 pm
price
From 75 to 100 €
phone_number
+33 1 53 09 82 82
website_url
http://www.moulinrouge.fr

Place Saint Georges

The Charming Square

Expand

Like the Notre-Dame-de-Lorette and St. George Streets, this square was opened by a finance company whose president was the future father-in-law of Thiers. At No. 27 stands the Hotel Thiers, it now contains the Thiers library (80, 000 volumes), the Thiers museum and the Napoleon Museum. In the centre, a fountain built in 1824 gives all the charm to this square : it originally consisted of a circular pool in the centre of which stood a column supporting two basins with water flowing from them in cascades. Modified in 1911, it was converted into a monument that glorified Gavarni (1804-1866), painter of the "courtesans" who lived on the Saint-Georges Street. The fountain was then topped with a bust of the famous artist, work by Puech and Guillaume. At No. 28, facing it, the amazing hotel built by Renaud in 1840 displays a curious mixture of Gothic and Renaissance decoration. It used to be the residence of the Marquise de Païva.

address
Place Saint-Georges
75009 Paris
access
Métro Saint-Georges L12

Espace Dali

The largest collection of artworks by Salvador Dalí in France.

Expand

If the Montmartre mound and the famous Place du Tertre are inseparable from painting and the artists, the Dalí Space has its proper place here. Being the only museum in France offering visitors a permanent collection of over 300 original works by Salvador Dali (1904-1989), it is truly a must-see for the fans of surrealism. A musical journey in the Universe of the Master through the discovery of a large number of major sculptures such as "The Space Elephant" or "Alice in Wonderland", but also of many engravings and lithographs illustrating the main favourite themes of the artist : mythology, history and religion. A real madness !

address
11 rue Poulbot
75018 Paris
access
Métro Anvers, Abbesses L 2 et 12 Funiculaire de Montmartre
opening_times
From 10 am to 6 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 42 64 40 10
website_url
http://www.daliparis.com

Place du Tertre

The Square of Montmartre

Expand

In the centre of the old town of Montmartre, the Place du Tertre (The Hillock Square) takes its name from its location on top of a 130-metre high mound. It was the seat of the Montmartre town hall, established in 1790 in the home of its first mayor, Félix Desportes (residing at No. 3). Clemenceau lived here. This is also where the headquarters of the Free Commune were in 1920 (No. 21). On the other hand, the Place du Tertre was a leading artistic place in the early 20th century ; the starving artists, including Picasso and Utrillo, lived here. Today we can wander around in this picturesque place, surrounded by all kinds of artists.

address
24 Place du Tertre
75018 Paris
access
Métro Abbesses L12

Basilica of Sacré-Cœur

From the top of of the butte Montmartre

Expand

The Basilica of the Sacred Heart, known as the "principal Vow", is situated on the top of the Montmartre hill, overlooking the city of Paris. Its construction was decreed by a law passed by the National Assembly on 23 July 1873 after the defeat in 1871 in order to "pay for the crimes of the communards", and also to honor the memory of the many French citizens who lost their lives during the Franco-Prussian war. Architect Paul Abadie won the contest for its construction. The first cornerstone was laid on 16 June 1875 ; the basilica was mainly funded by a large number of French as part of a national subscription where the believers were not asked for a consistent sum of money, but rather to contribute with an affordable amount. In total, nearly forty- six million francs were collected in half a century from the donations of nearly ten million believers. It will only be completed in 1914 and consecrated in 1919, after the end of the First World War.

address
35 Rue du Chevalier de la Barre
75018 Paris
access
Métro Abbesses L12
opening_times
From 6 am to 10:30 pm
price
Free access
website_url
http://www.sacre-coeur-montmartre.com

La Cité du Cinéma

Guided tour into the universe of cinema

Expand

Located in the heart of the “Grand Paris” close to “Carrefour Pleyel”, Saint-Denis power plant was commissioned in 1933 to supply the Parisian metropolitan. It closed in 1981 when production declines. In the 1990s, during the shoot of LEON, Luc Besson noted this abandoned place and thought immediately of its transformation into a major center of film production in Europe. Renovation began in 2010 and the Cité du Cinéma was born in 2012. This unique complex allows to integrate the whole supply chain of movie working. The “Nef” made of glass and steel (220 m) serves 20 000m ² of offices, the activities of film production, “Ecole Supérieur Louis Lumiere”, Ecole de la Cité and 9 studios. In the spirit of the original building, the “Cité du Cinéma” keeps an industrial soul that combines “Art Deco” and modern art. The EIFFEL framework, the choice of materials and the preservation of historical elements of the old building contribute to the identity of this rehabilitation.

address
20 rue Ampère
93200 Saint-Denis
access
Métro Carrefour Pleyel L13
phone_number
+33 1 55 99 52 00
website_url
http://www.citeducinema.org

DAY 2

From Eiffel Tower to Concorde

Eiffel Tower

The Iron Lady

Expand

Our Iron Lady is, at base, a project of Maurice Koechlin and Emile Nouguier, both engineers at the Eiffel home. In 1886 they won the open competition for the Universal Exhibition of 1889, which was meant to restore the French coat of arms after the defeat in 1870 and celebrate the centenary of the Revolution. The Tower was opened to the public on 18 April 1889 and had a great success. Its realization mobilized more than 50 engineers who made more than 5300 designs. Despite the scale of the task it was built in only two years, two months and five days with a reduced workforce of only 250 workers. Expected to last 20 years, Gustave Eiffel never ceased to find a use for it in order to make it sustainable. For this, from 1889 he installed several scientific instruments. Thus, the tower has today a radio antenna, a telegraph station, a weather laboratory, a DVB-T antenna and many other instruments. The Eiffel Tower has a square base measuring 125 meters on each side, its iron comes from steelworks in Lorraine and it is endowed with 18, 038 rivets. The weight of the structure amounts to 7300 tons while its total weight is 10, 100 tons. Maintaining the color of the tower requires from 35 to 40 tons of paint every seven years. Finally, an outdoor plank, readable from soil to the base of the first platform, bears the names of 72 French scientists and engineers who had the biggest contributions to the advancement of science between the 19th and the 20th century.

address
champ de Mars
75007 Paris
access
Métro Bir-Hakeim L6, Trocadéro L9
opening_times
From 9 am to 0 pm summer. From 9:30 am to 11 pm winter
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 8 92 70 12 39
website_url
http://www.toureiffel.paris

Eiffel Tower

Champagne at the top

Expand

Feel like doing something a little bit chic and original ? Well in that case stop off for a moment at the champagne bar on the top floor to enjoy a unique festive experience. Nestling into the very structure of the Tower, the bar offers you a choice of a glass of either rosé or white champagne, served as chilled as you like. What an elegant way to toast a sensational experience at the top of the Tower !
The bar is open daily from midday to 10 at night (a glass of champagne will cost between €12 and €21).

Eiffel Tower

Our Iron Lady is, at base, a project of Maurice Koechlin and Emile Nouguier, both engineers at the Eiffel home. In 1886 they won the open competition for the Universal Exhibition of 1889, which was meant to restore the French coat of arms after the defeat in 1870 and celebrate the centenary of the Revolution. The Tower was opened to the public on 18 April 1889 and had a great success. Its realization mobilized more than 50 engineers who made more than 5300 designs. Despite the scale of the task it was built in only two years, two months and five days with a reduced workforce of only 250 workers. Expected to last 20 years, Gustave Eiffel never ceased to find a use for it in order to make it sustainable. For this, from 1889 he installed several scientific instruments. Thus, the tower has today a radio antenna, a telegraph station, a weather laboratory, a DVB-T antenna and many other instruments. The Eiffel Tower has a square base measuring 125 meters on each side, its iron comes from steelworks in Lorraine and it is endowed with 18, 038 rivets. The weight of the structure amounts to 7300 tons while its total weight is 10, 100 tons. Maintaining the color of the tower requires from 35 to 40 tons of paint every seven years. Finally, an outdoor plank, readable from soil to the base of the first platform, bears the names of 72 French scientists and engineers who had the biggest contributions to the advancement of science between the 19th and the 20th century.

address
champ de Mars
75007 Paris
access
Métro Bir-Hakeim L6, Trocadéro L9
opening_times
From 9 am to 0 pm summer. From 9:30 am to 11 pm winter
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 8 92 70 12 39
website_url
http://www.toureiffel.paris

Firmin le Barbier

A Surgical Cuisine !

Expand

Its owner had another life ; he was a surgeon and decided to finally quit the scalpel to devote himself to his passion for wine and food. Thus, Francis Firmin became a restaurant owner in tiny place, a bistro with a dozen tables, where the brilliant topping reminds of that of the white blouses ! Together with Alexandre Vialatte, experienced head chef, the restaurant does now much more than improvising. The proof stands in these prime-looking dishes advertised on the slate, all accompanied by a cellar destined to connoisseurs rather than collectors.

address
20 Rue de Monttessuy
75007 Paris
access
Métro Alma - Marceau L9
opening_times
Wednesday to Sunday from 12am to 2pm and 7 pm to 10:30 pm. Except Saturday lunch
price
Between 25€ and 50€
phone_number
+33 1 45 51 21 55
website_url
http://www.firminlebarbier.fr

The Quai Branly Museum

"Paintings from afar" Exhibition

Expand

For this initial exhibition devoted to the painting collection at the quai Branly, Paintings from Distant Lands brings together nearly two hundred canvases and graphic works selected from among the five hundred works in the entire collection and dating from the late 18th century to the mid-20th century.
A composite and largely unknown collection, where Ange Tissier's odalisque sits alongside portraits of American Indians by George Catlin, and scenes of day-to-day life in Cairo by Émile Bernard stand shoulder to shoulder with prints and drawings of Tahiti by Matisse and Gauguin.
This collection also tells the story of an encounter with the Other and the Elsewhere, questioning the evolution of the artistic perspective of the unknown. In a rapidly expanding colonial Europe, Western art takes different paths when faced with the shock of a world that welcomes it in, first succumbing to the temptation of exoticism, where the exaltation of colour and light fuels dreams of a luxurious and exquisite Eastern world, before later coming to represent a more realistic, ethnographic perspective that is mindful of the Other.
From oneirism and naturalism, fantasy to documentary and romanticism to colonial propaganda, what we have here is a reflection of artistic and political history.

From Tuesday 30 January 2018 at Sunday 06 January 2019
Tuesday, Wednesday, Sunday : 11 : 00 am-07 : 00 pm
Thursday, Friday, Saturday : 11 : 00 am-09 : 00 pm
Full price : 10 € - Reduce rate : 7 €

The Quai Branly Museum

The Quai Branly Museum was inaugurated in June 2006. It was created at the initiative of Jacques Chirac, President of the Republic at the time. Indeed, he entrusted the architect Jean Nouvel with the task of edifying a museum dedicated to the arts of Asia, Africa, Oceania and the Americas, which immerses the visitor into those places from his arrival on the premises. Therefore we enter the museum after having crossed a luxurious garden designed by the landscaper Gilles Clément, unless you try to go through the wall made out of more than 1500 plants, of 150 different species, made by the botanist Patrick Blanc, specialist of the tropical zones. Finally, the collections of the museum result from a fusion between the Museum of the arts of Africa and Oceania, some collections of the Museum of Man and a few donations and various legacies.

address
37 quai Branly
75007 Paris
access
Métro Iena, Alma-Marceau L9
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 11 am to 7 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 56 61 70 00
website_url
http://www.quaibranly.fr

Aquarium of Paris

Discover each week a new program

Expand

This place of culture immersed in a gigantic aquarium was built in a former quarry for the Universal exhibition in 1878. It as accessible through the gardens of the Trocadéro. The entrance is shaded by a wave-shaped glass pane. At the heart of the magical aquatic universe, the center gathers four movie theatres offering projections and cultural animations regarding the world of the sea.
Four million litres of water house the thousands of living specimens from corals to fishes, seahorses, and also sharks, as the aquarium has around thirty of them swimming in a big pool.

address
5 avenue Albert de Mun
75016 Paris
access
Métro Iéna L9
opening_times
From 10 am to 7 pm
price
From 20 to 30 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 69 23 23
website_url
http://www.cineaqua.com/index.php/fr

Musée National de la Marine

An exceptional collection of older models of ships

Expand

Ideally located near the Esplanade du Trocadéro, the National Navy Museum has been housed since 1938 by the Passy wing of the Palais de Chaillot, emblematic building of the 30s, built by the architects Carlu, Boileau and Azéma for the International Exhibition of 1937. This museum offers visitors an exceptional collection of ship models from all eras, including sailing warships of the 17th century, 18th and 19th century collection initially offered by Henri-Louis Duhamel du Monceau to King Louis XV. In addition to its permanent collections of the most incredible models, paintings and objects relating to the navy, the museum also houses temporary exhibitions throughout the year.

address
17 Place du Trocadéro et du 11 Novembre
75116 Paris
access
Métro Trocadéro L6, L9
opening_times
From 11 am to 6 pm closes tuesday
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 53 65 69 69
website_url
http://www.musee-marine.fr

Musée de l'Homme

Néanderthal the exhibition

Expand

Discover the Neanderthal man, a major figure in the human adventure.

From 28.03.2018 to 07.01.2019
Every day from 10 am to 6 pm, except Tuesdays.
Full price : 12 € - Reduced price : 9 €

Musée de l'Homme

In 1878, the Trocadero Palace was built for the Universal Exhibition. It housed the Trocadero Ethnography museum, founded in 1882 by Ernest Hamy. The Palais de Chaillot succeeded him at the International Exhibition of Arts and Techniques in 1937. Inaugurated in 1938, the Musée de l'Homme was created by Paul Rivet and showed the evolution of man and society. It brings together the most important French collections concerning the definition, life, history and civilizations of man. In 2009, a renovation project was implemented and led to the reopening of the museum in October 2015. Today, the spaces of the Musée de l'Homme are the only intact to maintain the canopy of one of the pavilions of the palace 1878.

address
17 Place du Trocadéro et du 11 Novembre
75116 Paris
access
Métro Trocadéro L6, L9
opening_times
Every day 10 am to 6 pm, Wednesday until 9 pm Closed Tuesdays , January 1st , May 1st and December 25th
phone_number
+33 1 44 05 72 72
website_url
http://www.museedelhomme.fr

The House of Balzac

An oasis of greenery in Paris

Expand

Avoiding his creditors, Balzac lived in the village of Passy from 1840 to 1847 under the name of Mr. Breugnol. This house remains the only evidence of his life in Paris. The houses of Balzac, Victor Hugo and George Sand are the three literary museums of the city. As he arrives on the street, which is heightened comparing to the house, the visitor discovers only a small fence surrounding a wooden door ; the house is more accessible by an outside staircase overlooking a lovely shaded garden. The house was converted into a museum in 1949 ; it has a library of over 15, 000 documents and a number of manuscripts, newspapers and personal items of the writer. It was here that Balzac wrote his masterpiece, The Human Comedy, and many other novels. His partially restored office can still be visited there.

address
47 rue Raynouard
75016 Paris
access
Métro Passy L6 ou La Muette L9
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 10 am to 6 pm
price
Free access
phone_number
+33 1 55 74 41 80
website_url
http://www.paris.fr/pratique/musees-expos/…

Fondation Louis Vuitton

La Création Artistique sous toutes ses formes

Expand

Created by Frank Gehry at the initiative of Bernard Arnault, the Louis Vuitton Foundation is located in Paris, on the site of the Jardin d’Acclimatation in the Bois de Boulogne. The Louis Vuitton Foundation is primarily associated with artistic creation in all its forms. In its spaces, the public is invited to discover the permanent collection of works belonging to the Foundation or to the Arnault’s collection, as well as temporary exhibitions - two a year - and musical events in the auditorium.

address
8 Avenue du Mahatma Gandhi
75116 Paris
access
Métro Les Sablons L1
opening_times
From 10 am to 8 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 69 96 00
website_url
http://www.fondationlouisvuitton.fr

The Louis Vuitton Foundation

"Jean-Michel Basquiat" Exhibition

Expand

Focusing on 120 defining works. With the Heads from 1981-1982, gathered for the first time here, and the presentation of several collaborations between Basquiat and Warhol, the exhibition includes works previously unseen in Europe, essential works such as Obnoxious Liberals (1982), In Italian (1983), and Riding with Death (1988), as well as paintings which have rarely been seen since their first presentations during the artist’s lifetime, such as Offensive Orange (1982), Untitled (Boxer) (1982), and Untitled (Yellow Tar and Feathers) (1982).

From October 3, 2018 to January 14, 2019
From 11 am to 8 pm on weekdays. 9 am to 9 pm on weekend
Full price : €16.0 - Reduced price : €10.00

The Louis Vuitton Foundation

Created by Frank Gehry at the initiative of Bernard Arnault, the Louis Vuitton Foundation is located in Paris, on the site of the Jardin d’Acclimatation in the Bois de Boulogne. The Louis Vuitton Foundation is primarily associated with artistic creation in all its forms. In its spaces, the public is invited to discover the permanent collection of works belonging to the Foundation or to the Arnault’s collection, as well as temporary exhibitions - two a year - and musical events in the auditorium.

address
8 Avenue du Mahatma Gandhi
75116 Paris
access
Métro Les Sablons L1
opening_times
From 10 am to 8 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 69 96 00
website_url
http://www.fondationlouisvuitton.fr

Arc de Triomphe

Unknown Soldiers Exhibition

Expand

The Arc de Triomphe was built by the order of Napoleon to celebrate the glory of his army. The construction of the monument, designed according to the drawings of Chalgrin, began in 1806, but the fall of the empire prevented the progress of the works. It was Louis Philippe who took up the works and completed it in 1836, still according to plans of Chalgrin. The Arc is situated in the center of the Place Charles de Gaulle, the the meeting point of the twelve avenues forming a star ; hence its first name of Place de l'Etoile (Square of the Star). The most monumental gate in the world has a rectangular base, measuring 50 meters high, 29 meters to its coffered ceiling and 45 meters wide. The Arc is ornamented with four magnificent high reliefs, each measuring 18 feet long. On the side towards Paris there is the ‘Triumph of 1810’ by Cortot, representing the Emperor crowned by Victory, with a conquered city at his feet. There is also the ‘Departure of the Volunteers in 1792’ also called ‘The Marseillaise’. This sculpture by François Rude represents seven men surmounted by the Spirit of the War guiding them in battle. On the Neuilly side, the Arc presents the sculptural groups ‘The Peace of 1815’ and ‘The Resistance of 1814’, both by Antoine Etex. The low-reliefs framed in rectangular cases are located above the large sculptural groups, illustrating the battles of Aboukir, Austerlitz, and General Marceau’s burial. Above these, a frieze carved by Brun Jacquet, Laitié, Caillouette and Seurre the Elder, depicts the departure of the French army on one side and its return on the other. The ensemble is crowned by thirty shields bearing the names of the victories of the Empire and the Republic in Europe and Africa. The terrace at the top of the Arc (paid access) offers a magnificent view over Paris. Also, there is a small museum housing documents about its construction and about the major ceremonies taking place here.

address
Place Charles de gaulle
75008 Paris
access
Métro Ch-de-Gaulle-Etoile L1, L2, L6
opening_times
From april to september 10 am to 11 pm. From october to march 10 am to 10.30 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 55 37 73 77
website_url
http://mobile.monuments-nationaux.fr/fr/…

Hôtel Salomon de Rothschild

Cabinet of curiosities (Hôtel Salomon de Rothschild)

Expand

In a beautiful Parisian mansion in the style of the eighteenth century, discover rare objects gathered from the nineteenth century by Baron Salomon de Rothschild and his wife Adele de Rothschild. In the company of a professional guide, you will discover during one hour the beauty of the works of Delacroix or Rodin, the astonishing Chinese jades, precious weapons, tapestries and old stained glasses. This experience, more than a visit, will immerse you in the memory of the Paris of the nineteenth century, from its artistic salons to its wonderful collections.

Group visit by appointment (Phone : 01 45 63 23 56 or mail : visite@fnagp.fr)

Hôtel Salomon de Rothschild

This Mansion of the baroness Adele de Rothschild was built by Léon Ohnet and Justin Ponsard at the location of the "folie Beaujon". Its construction extends over four years, between 1874 and 1878. The whole construction is in stone ; the facade is preceded by a massive portal while the garden facade reveals its forwards body to form a portico whose balcony is supported by a colonnade. The windows are decorated with floral motifs and the composition of the central pediment evokes a pair of swans. The Mansion has retained its vast garden. At his death in 1922, the baroness donated to the state of the whole of the property that houses since 1976 the headquarters of the National Foundation of Graphic and Plastic Arts (FNAGP) which helps artists especially in old age or disability.

address
11 rue Berryer
75008 Paris
access
Metro Charles de Gaulle - Etoile L1
opening_times
Visit on reservation (mail : visite@fnagp.fr)
phone_number
+33 1 71 93 75 55
website_url
http://www.hotelsalomonderothschild.com

Sir Winston

One of the oldest Pub in Paris

Expand

One of the oldest English pubs in Paris, which has become a must see, the Sir Winston is the gathering place for the fans of cocktails and scotches, and not just that… Starting with breakfast up to the DJ nights, including either lunch or just a drink, this place continuously bursts with life from 9 am to 4 am, everyday ! From Monday to Saturday, DJs and musicians take turns in a festive ambiance, tainted by world music. Finally, do not miss the famous Sunday brunch, between 12h and 16h !

address
5 rue de Presbourg
75116 Paris
access
Métro Charles de Gaulle-Etoile L 1,2,6
opening_times
From 9 am to 4 am
phone_number
+33 1 40 67 17 37
website_url
http://www.sirwinston.fr

Lido de Paris

New show "Paris Merveilles"

Expand

A UNIQUE TRIBUTE TO THE ELEGANCE AND TREASURES OF PARIS
The exceptional machinery gives life to breathtaking sets. An entire city is transformed before your eyes, blurring the boundaries of space and time. A fantastical journey in which the emblems of the capital are scattered through the various scenes. The upbeat choreographies led by the famous Bluebell Girls and Lido Boys succeed one another at a frenzied pace. The extravagant hats and magnificent costumes are decorated with beautiful feathers and sparkle with a thousand lights. Dare to take a new look at Art Nouveau, stopover at the foot of our famous Iron Lady, admire the fashion shows, and much more… THE LIDO RESONATES FOR PARIS !

Show : from 60€

Lido de Paris

The very first Lido dates back to 1928. An artificial beach was created in the basement of Monsieur Dufayel’s former townhouse. This was demolished and replaced by a shopping gallery called the “Arcades” at 78 Avenue des Champs-Elysées. The basement level became the “Lido, Paris beach”. People went there for refreshments and children had fun in the 33m by 9m pool. But, it was once the theatres shut their doors for the night, at around midnight, that the establishment really came to life : casino, musical shows in the water, gondolas the same as in Venice, and more. However, in 1933, the number of visitors declined and the venue was declared bankrupt. In 1936, Léon Volterra came to the rescue and transformed the building from top to bottom. Gone were the pool and its beach, replaced by a temple, columns and shows ! After the War, Léon Volterra sold the lease for the Lido to two brothers : Joseph and Louis Clérico. They immediately undertook major works and turned it into a temple for large-scale variety shows. On the 20th of June 1946, the stage glittered with the soon to become legendary beauty of the dancers, the radiant costumes and the elegant attractions. Recognised everywhere, always greeted with great fervour, the Lido’s variety shows were praised to the skies by critics. Some even went so far as to proclaim that “foreigners and French people visiting Paris firstly visited the Eiffel Tower and the Lido, where they were guaranteed to enjoy a prestigious show which was unique in the world”. The Lido became a legend. In 1977, the Lido took over the Normandie at 116 Avenue des Champs Élysées. Magnificently designed and decorated by the architects Peynet, Bartoccini and Veccia, the venue became the largest and most luxurious cabaret in Europe.

address
116 bis avenue des Champs-Élysées
75008 Paris
access
Métro George V L1
opening_times
Open everyday from 9am to 2am
phone_number
+33 1 40 76 56 10
website_url
http://www.lido.fr

Louis Vuitton

The Speedy - Eighty-five years and counting !

Expand

A trunk maker since 1854, this prestigious brand opened a new store in 2005 that’s worthy of its reputation. Vuitton’s Paris flag- ship store features the brand’s entire range, including leather goods, ready-to-wear, jewellery and accessories, and boasts an art gallery on the 7th floor.

address
101 avenue des Champs-Élysées
75008 Paris
access
Métro George V L1
opening_times
From Monday till Saturday 10am till 8pm - Sunday 11am till 7pm.
phone_number
+33 1 53 57 52 00
website_url
http://www.louisvuitton.com

Fouquet's

French High Class Brasserie since 1899

Expand

In the Belle Epoque, Louis Fouquet, lemonade maker, bought a simple tavern on the ground floor of a building dating from 1863, where coachmen came to quench their thirst. He established his business in 1899 under the name "The Criterion-Fouquet's Bar". Just as the Gallopin, Fouquet's bar was decorated in the American style. The Escadrille bar in the back room on the ground floor was opened in 1906 by the Brazilian Alberto Santos-Dumont. In 1913, the restaurant was launched at the mezzanine by Leopold Mourier, the successor of Fouquet, and the décor was completely renewed in 1958 by the decorator Jean Royère. On the Champs- Elysées Avenue, the establishment is the last of the great historic cafés.

address
99 Avenue des Champs Elysées
75008 Paris
access
Métro George V L1
opening_times
From 8 am to 2 am
price
Between 75€ and 100€
phone_number
+33 1 40 69 60 50
website_url
http://www.lucienbarriere.com/localized/…

Ladurée

Macarons and Pastries

Expand

Sweets manufacturer since 1862, Ladurée is a famous Parisian pastry house. Their macaroons are among the most renowned of the capital. The history of the Parisian tearooms is intimately tied to the history of the Ladurée family. It all began in 1862, when Louis Ernest Ladurée founded a bakery in Paris at 16, rue Royale. In 1871, while Baron Haussmann was giving Paris a new face, a fire in the bakery opened the opportunity to transform it into a pastry shop. The decoration of the pastry shop was entrusted to Jules Cheret, a famous turn-of-the-century painter and poster designer. Jeanne Souchard, Ernest Ladurée’s wife, had the idea to combine the two styles : the Parisian café and the patisserie. So she established one of the first tearooms of the capital.

address
75 Avenue des Champs-Elysées
75008 Paris
access
Métro George V L1
opening_times
Monday to friday from 7:30 am to 11 pm Saturday from 8:30 am to midnight. Sunday from 8:30 am to 10 pm
phone_number
+33 1 40 75 08 75
website_url
http://www.laduree.com

The Grand Palais

"Magnificent Venice !" Exhibition

Expand

Having inherited a multisecular tradition, at the dawn of the 18th century Venetian civilisation dazzled in the visual and decorative arts, music and opera alike. The presence of great talents, such as the painters Piazzetta and Giambattista Tiepolo, the urban landscape painter or vedutista Canaletto and the sculptors Corradini and Brustolon, to name but a few, allowed Venice to cultivate a unique aesthetic and sense of luxury. Music was kept very much alive through creations by composers such as Porpora, Hasse and Vivaldi, performed by world-famous singers, including the castrato Farinelli and the soprano Faustina Bordoni.
In the Ospedali, poor or orphaned young girls received extensive musical education, and their virtuosity made them famous throughout Europe. In the city, during Carnival, drama and farce were everywhere, and the passion for gambling was given free reign at the ridotto.

September 26, 2018 - January 21, 2019
Monday, Thursday, Friday, Saturday and Sunday from 10 am to 8 pm.
Wednesday from 10 am to 10 pm. Closed on Tuesday
Full price : 14 € - Reduced price : 10 €

The Grand Palais

For the Universal Exposition of 1900, France wanted to dazzle, so the government decided to put in place a vast architectural project of which the Grand Palais, the Petit Palais and the Alexandre III Bridge would be the key of the show. The Grand Palais distinguishes itself by its asymmetrical ‘H’- shaped architecture and its immense glass roof, the largest in Europe. However, speaking of the Grand Palais as a unique space is a mistake. Actually, this vast building includes no less than three different institutions : the Grand Palais National Galleries, the nave and the National Museums Association. Additionally, there are a restaurant, the republican guard and CAPE (Centre d'Accueil de la Presse Etrangère), a press centre for foreign journalists. This set was built by the architects Charles Girault, Henri Deglane and Albert Thomas. It is the reflection of the period’s taste with its splendid glass roof, with a total weight of 8 500t (more than the Eiffel Tower) which is hidden behind the imposing stone façades. For example, the one on the Winston Churchill avenue is patterned with numerous fluted columns with Ionic capitals, in the style of a loggia which has a mosaic by G.Martin “the great epochs of art”, in the background.

address
avenue Winston Churchill
75008 Paris
access
Métro Champs Elysées-Cémenceau L1
opening_times
see programming
website_url
http://www.grandpalais.fr

The Grand Palais

"Miró" Exhibition

Expand

Bringing together nearly 150 works, this retrospective traces the technical and stylistic evolution of the artist. Miró creates from his dreams and opens the door to his poetic universe.
Miró transformed the world around him with an apparent simplicity of means, whether a symbol, the tracing of a finger or water on paper, a seemingly fragile line on the canvas, a line in the ground fused with fire, or an insignificant object paired with another. He conjured a world full of poetic transformations from these surprising juxtapositions and unusual marriages, restoring enchantment to the world.

October 3, 2018 - February 4, 2019
Grand Palais, Galeries nationales
Monday, Thursday and Sunday from 10am to 8pm
Wednesday, Friday and Saturday from 10am to 10pm
Closed on Tuesdays
Full Price : € 16 - Reduced : € 12

The Grand Palais

For the Universal Exposition of 1900, France wanted to dazzle, so the government decided to put in place a vast architectural project of which the Grand Palais, the Petit Palais and the Alexandre III Bridge would be the key of the show. The Grand Palais distinguishes itself by its asymmetrical ‘H’- shaped architecture and its immense glass roof, the largest in Europe. However, speaking of the Grand Palais as a unique space is a mistake. Actually, this vast building includes no less than three different institutions : the Grand Palais National Galleries, the nave and the National Museums Association. Additionally, there are a restaurant, the republican guard and CAPE (Centre d'Accueil de la Presse Etrangère), a press centre for foreign journalists. This set was built by the architects Charles Girault, Henri Deglane and Albert Thomas. It is the reflection of the period’s taste with its splendid glass roof, with a total weight of 8 500t (more than the Eiffel Tower) which is hidden behind the imposing stone façades. For example, the one on the Winston Churchill avenue is patterned with numerous fluted columns with Ionic capitals, in the style of a loggia which has a mosaic by G.Martin “the great epochs of art”, in the background.

address
avenue Winston Churchill
75008 Paris
access
Métro Champs Elysées-Cémenceau L1
opening_times
see programming
website_url
http://www.grandpalais.fr

Place de la Concorde

The place of the Obelisk !

Expand

This beautiful square was inaugurated in 1763 under the name of Louis XV Square. It was the scene of the executions of Louis XVI, Marie Antoinette, Danton and Robespierre during the French Revolution. Its name was continuously changed at the discretion of the many tragic and joyful events that took place on its soil. It was Louis Philippe who gave it its current name, "La Concorde” so that it ceases to be a pretext to various animosities. Its plan, inspired by those of French gardens, was designed by Ange-Jacques Gabriel. In the 19th century, the place underwent a great embellishment work led by the architect Hittorf. You can admire two majestic fountains that surround the 3, 200 year old obelisk of Luxor from the temple of Ramses II. The square, considered one of the most beautiful in the world, has been classified as a historical monument since 1937.

address
10 Place de la Concorde
75008 Paris
access
Métro Concorde L 1,8,12

Le Grand Musée du Parfum

Perfume, a French Story !

Expand

Perfume in France is obvious. Pillar of our history, our heritage, our art of living, it intrigues, captivates and fascinates. Paris was lacking an emblematic place where everyone could meet him, explore this universal and individual ritual, discover who hides behind this elixir and possess the gift of expressing both what we are and we aspire to be.

Full price : 14, 50 € - Reduced : 9, 50 €

A site, a building with rich and turbulent history
The Grand Musée du Parfum is housed in a mansion located at 73 rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré, with a private garden, a paved courtyard and a beautiful restored façade.
This adressé has always evolved in an elegant and luxurious world, symbol of the art of living "à la Française". The private mansion bears traces of the multitude of interventions carried out with the intention of satisfying the usages and vocations given to it over the centuries by its successive owners without ever distorting the harmony of the building. First residence of masters gardeners in the 17th century then residence of bourgeois owners, the hotel was then inhabited by an artist-painter who gave it its name, Etienne Moreau-Nélaton. Continuing to attract the world of art, the hotel, after having been the headquarters of the lingerie brand Scandale, became, in 1987, housed the Maison Christian-Lacroix. An artistic continuity in which is now inscribed the installation of the Grand Musée du Parfum.

Photo 1 © Isabelle Chapuis & Alexis Pichot

address
73 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Honoré
75008 Paris
access
Metro Saint Philippe du Roule L9
opening_times
Tuesday to Sunday from 10:30 am to 7:00 pm Nocturne on Friday until 10:00 pm
website_url
http://www.musee-du-parfum.fr

Angelina

Its Famous Chocolate and Pastries

Expand

The Angelina tea room was founded in 1903 by the Austrian confectioner Antoine Rumpelmayer who named his establishment in honour of his daughter-in-law. Located on the Rue de Rivoli, it could only attract a clientèle from the high society. Angelina quickly became the meeting-place for the Parisian aristocracy, where Proust, Coco Chanel and the major French fashion designers all crossed each other’s paths. The decoration designed by the famous architect of the Belle Epoque Edouard- Jean Niermans, combines elegance, charm and refinement. A famous architect of the Belle Epoque, he was interested all his life in the decoration and construction of brasseries and theatres. The musts of the House Angelina are : the African hot chocolate is composed of three kinds of African cocoa. The Mont-Blanc, an iconic pastry combining meringue, light whipped cream and chestnut paste vermicelli to delight even the keenest of palates. Thanks to its unique, unrivalled recipe, the Mont-Blanc became Angelina's trademark and made it famous since 1903.

address
226 rue de Rivoli
75001 Paris
access
Métro Tuileries L1
opening_times
From 7:30 am to 7 pm
phone_number
+33 1 42 60 82 00
website_url
http://www.angelina-paris.fr/fr

Palais Royal Garden

The Campain in Paris

Expand

The Royal Palace was built for Cardinal Richelieu by the architect Jacques Lemercier in 1622. At his death, he bequeathed the palace to Louis XIII. After the death of the latter, the regent, together with the young Louis XIV, moved into the palace, which then became a royal residence. It was rebuilt in 1781, when it took the current form, with its commercial galleries surrounding a large garden. Its destination changed alternately from a setting for social events to becoming a revolutionary landmark of agitation and riots. The gardens were designed by Pierre Desgotz, the king's gardener. They consist of four rows of lime trees that lie alongside galleries, thus providing a large central space where lawns are drawn.

address
4 Galerie de Chartres
75001 Paris
access
Métro Pyramides, L7,L14
opening_times
winter from 7:30 am to 8:30 pm summer from 7 am to 11 pm
website_url
http://palais-royal.monuments-nationaux.fr

Day 3

From Ile de la Cité to Le Marais

The Conciergerie

A Prime Example of Medieval Architecture

Expand

The Conciergerie was the residence of the caretaker, the governor of the King's house. Vestige of the old Palais de la Cité (Royal Palace of France until the installation of Charles V in the Louvre) it was enlarged by Louis IX and especially by Philip IV the Fair, who rebuilt and enlarged it at the beginning of the 14th century. Composed by four towers, the first crenelated tower to be built was the right Bonbec. It owes its name to the many tortures practiced for centuries here, tortures that untied the tongues of the prisoners, giving them "good beak" for speaking ! In the center, there are the twin towers and the Silver Tower, which housed the treasure of the crown and finally, on the left, the tower of Caesar. The clock tower on the corner of Boulevard du Palais received the first public clock in Paris in 1370 and it continues to give rhythm to the life of the Palace. Following the resettling of the kings on the right bank, this monument became a state prison. During the French Revolution the stones of this monument were stained with blood. Being known as the "antechamber to the guillotine, " it witnessed the last days many of many prisoners including Marie Antoinette, Charlotte Corday or Madame du Barry.

address
2 boulevard du Palais
75001 Paris
access
Métro Châtelet L 1, 4, 7, 11, 14
opening_times
From 9:30 am to 6:00 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+ 33 1 53 40 60 80
website_url
http://conciergerie.monuments-nationaux.fr

The Conciergerie

Discover the HistoPad at the Conciergerie

Expand

Enjoy an immersive and enriched visit in the medieval and revolutionary spaces of the Conciergerie.
With augmented reality techniques, 3D reconstructions and interactive features, this immersive tour guide will help you better understand the history of the place and its historical meaning.
You can discover the rooms of the Palais de la Cité reconstituted in the 14th century under Philippe Le Beletau XVIIIth century during the French Revolution.
With family or friends, you can also play in the monument thanks to the treasure hunt offered by the HistoPad !

The HistoPad is available on site (at the ticket office) for hire
Duration : from one hour to two hours (and even more for enthusiasts).
Available in 6 languages : French, English, German, Spanish, Italian and Chinese.
Prices : 6.50 €

The Conciergerie

The Conciergerie was the residence of the caretaker, the governor of the King's house. Vestige of the old Palais de la Cité (Royal Palace of France until the installation of Charles V in the Louvre) it was enlarged by Louis IX and especially by Philip IV the Fair, who rebuilt and enlarged it at the beginning of the 14th century. Composed by four towers, the first crenelated tower to be built was the right Bonbec. It owes its name to the many tortures practiced for centuries here, tortures that untied the tongues of the prisoners, giving them "good beak" for speaking ! In the center, there are the twin towers and the Silver Tower, which housed the treasure of the crown and finally, on the left, the tower of Caesar. The clock tower on the corner of Boulevard du Palais received the first public clock in Paris in 1370 and it continues to give rhythm to the life of the Palace. Following the resettling of the kings on the right bank, this monument became a state prison. During the French Revolution the stones of this monument were stained with blood. Being known as the "antechamber to the guillotine, " it witnessed the last days many of many prisoners including Marie Antoinette, Charlotte Corday or Madame du Barry.

address
2 boulevard du Palais
75001 Paris
access
Métro Châtelet L 1, 4, 7, 11, 14
opening_times
From 9:30 am to 6:00 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+ 33 1 53 40 60 80
website_url
http://conciergerie.monuments-nationaux.fr

The Sainte Chapelle

A Jewel of Radiant Gothic Architecture

Expand

Much more than a church, Sainte Chapelle is a reliquary desired by Louis IX in the middle of the 13th century in order to house the prestigious Passion relics, such as the Crown of Thorns and a piece of the True Cross. The Holy King acquired these prestigious relics for a considerable sum. The Crown of Thorns alone was bought from the Emperor Baldwin II of Constantinople in 1239 for 135, 000 livres, while the Chapelle only cost 40, 000. The building was erected in short time because the works took place from 1242 to 1248, so that it could be consecrated on 25 April 1248. Its particular function as a reliquary is visible in its architecture : it is entirely designed as a glass shrine whose role is to enhance the relics that it contains. This results in the upper chapel overhanging the lower chapel and forming a unique ensemble of 750m² of stained glass, flooding it with light and color, like a symbol of the heavenly Jerusalem. These windows, masterpieces of the art of stained glass, are held by a slender architecture, typical of the Gothic art.

address
10 Quai des Orfèvres
75001 Paris
access
Métro Cité L4
opening_times
From 9:30 am to 6: pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 53 40 60 80
website_url
http://sainte-chapelle.monuments-nationaux…

Prescription Cocktail Club

Top Cocktails !

Expand

Great Adress ! The decoration made of brick-built wall, low lights, bowler hat shaped lamps and a bookcase of old books library connected to the first floor, does not lack charm. Great cocktails with a special mention for the homemade "Side Car" !

address
23 Rue Mazarine
75006 Paris
access
Métro Odéon L 4, 10
opening_times
Monday to saturday from 7 pm to 2 am and 4 am on saturday Sunday from 8 pm to 2 am
phone_number
+33 9 50 35 72 87
website_url
https://www.facebook.com/pages/…

Crypte Archéologique Notre-Dame

"Paris disparu / Paris restitué" Exhibition

Expand

The Archaeological Crypt of the Parvis of Notre-Dame was built in 1971 in order to preserve the vestiges discovered during the excavations carried out in the square. They consist mainly of remains from the buildings developed on the banks of the ancient Seine. The paving of the current square represents the ancient topography. The Neuve-Notre-Dame Street, which was built in the same time as the construction of the Gothic cathedral, helped in preserving the most ancient archaeological levels. Thus, in the crypt, we can discover a dock from the time of Tiberius (14-37 AD) that served as a base for the foundations of the 4th-century walls. We can also see small public baths dating from the Late Empire, which show that Roman baths were used until late ages. The paving stones in front of the Notre Dame outline the plan of the Merovingian basilica that preceded the Cathedral built by Maurice de Sully. This first building stood upon the 4th-century fortification.

address
Parvis Notre-Dame
75004 Paris
access
Métro Cité L4

Notre-Dame Cathedral

Nine Centuries of History

Expand

When this masterpiece of Gothic architecture was built (1163-1330), it was the largest cathedral in France and in Europe. It was Bishop Maurice de Sully who decided its construction in 1163. The construction management was entrusted to the architects Jean de Chelles and Pierre de Montreuil. Notre Dame is the most visited monument of Paris, pilgrims and visitors admire every day the majestically rich and varied architecture. With its two 69 m high towers, its large and beautiful rosettes, its three main beautifully carved portals, its gallery of 28 Judean kings and its ingenious flying buttresses of 15 m radius, the cathedral is a veritable technical achievement of the Middle Ages. Vandalized and turned into a warehouse during the French Revolution, it hosted the coronation of Napoleon by Pope Pius VII on 2 December 1804. Victor Hugo's famous novel, ‘Notre Dame de Paris’ drew attention to the Cathedral, which was then in very poor condition. Its restoration was decided by King Louis Philippe in 1844 and was assigned to one of the pioneers of French Romanticism : Viollet -le-Duc and to Jean Baptiste Lassus, who will restore its 90 m high spire, and a great number of its sculptures. The works were completed in 1864. In an attempt to accurately reconstruct the demolished parts of the cathedral, the architects made an intense research on the architecture of the Middle Ages, which led to a magnificent result.

address
Place du Parvis Notre Dame
75004 Paris
access
Métro Cité L4
opening_times
From 8 am to 6:45 pm
price
Free access
phone_number
+33 1 42 34 56 10
website_url
http://www.notredamedeparis.fr

Au Vieux Paris d'Arcole

A Romantic Restaurant close to Notre Dame

Expand

The House of the old Paris, situated in the heart of Marais, on the Ile de la Cite, close to Notre Dame de Paris, was built in 1512, while the Cathedral was being completed. Back then, the priest of Notre Dame de Paris was hosted here. After serving as a home for about 6 months for one of the priests that became one of the Avignon popes (Clement VIII), it was sold by the Bishopric in 1723 to become a wine bar, as evidenced by the entry gate of the wine merchant, listed as a historical monument.
Thus it is one of the oldest Parisian restaurants, as it has never changed its activity ever since. Its condition of historical monument has allowed the current owners to justify the lush vegetation including a very impressive wisteria that gives it an even more picturesque appearance.

address
24 rue Chanoinesse
75004 Paris
access
Métro Cité L4
opening_times
Every day except Saturday lunchtime
phone_number
+33 1 40 46 06 81
website_url
http://www.auvieuxparis.fr

Centre Georges Pompidou

"Le cubisme" Exhibition

Expand

The first exhibition devoted to Cubism in France since 1953, the project's originality lies in its unusual stance, broadening a standpoint usually focused on its two inventors, Georges Braque and Pablo Picasso, to other artists. These pioneers, soon followed by Fernand Léger and Juan Gris, reserved their ground-breaking experimental work for a small-scale gallery run by a young unknown dealer, Daniel-Henry Kahnweiler, while artists like Albert Gleizes, Jean Metzinger, Francis Picabia, Marcel Duchamp, Robert and Sonia Delaunay brought the movement

Oct 17, 2018 - Feb 25, 2019
From 11 am to 9 pm. Nocturne on Thursday 11 pm
Gallery 1 - Center Pompidou, Paris
Full price : 14 € - Reduced : 11 €

Centre Georges Pompidou

Also called the Beaubourg center, this polycultural building houses the National Museum of Modern Art and the public information library. An original cultural institution, the center is entirely dedicated to the modern and contemporary creation, the fine arts being next to books, design, music and cinema. The center represents a true challenge following President Georges Pompidou’s will of creating a contemporary center of arts and culture in the heart of Paris. Renzo Piano’s and Richard Rogers’ project was chosen by the jury of the international competition of 15 August 1971. The center was inaugurated by Valéry Giscard on 31 January 1977. Renzo Piano’s will of putting all the technical shafts and structural elements at the periphery of the building, is not only for the appearance of the building of what he calls “ a parody of technology”, it is also a clever solution allowing to clear the whole interior space for its museum function.

address
Place Georges Pompidou
75004 Paris
access
Métro Châtelet–Les Halles L1, L4, L7, L11 L14
opening_times
From 11 am to 9 pm closes Tuesday
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 44 78 12 33
website_url
http://www.centrepompidou.fr

Chez Julien

A Candlelight Dinner

Expand

The current restaurant "Chez Julien" was opened in 2007. It was restored while retaining its Belle Epoque atmosphere. The interior woodwork is signed by Majorelle. The building itself dates from the first quarter of the 19th century and an inn has been located in this place since 1820, while an old bakery was situated at the corner of the Pont Louis-Philippe. You can still see remains of the bakery in the panels fixed under glass realised around 1900 by the Gilbert Studio. Medallions showing a mill, harvesters and sheaves of wheat indicated the place. Inside, the painted ceiling displays a sky with birds flying. The restaurant preserved it. But the cast iron gate is the most remarkable. The Corinthian capitals are gilded and alternate with eagles fixed with cross-braces. This neoclassical style is still steeped in the Napoleonic era. The menu offers a traditional French cuisine.

address
1 rue du pont Louis Philippe
75004 Paris
access
Métro Pont Marie L1
opening_times
From 12 am to 11 pm
phone_number
+33 1 42 78 31 64
website_url
http://www.beaumarly.com/chez-julien/…

Musée de la Magie

The wonderful world of illusionists

Expand

This museum, unusual to say the least, originates from the collection of a great lover of "magical" objects, Georges Proust who established it in 1993. It occupies seven halls, under the village Saint-Paul, and allows one to admire splendid vaulted cellars dating back to the 16th century. Furthermore, visitors will discover multiple games of illusion and prestidigitation, through a collection of prints, colorful posters and automata of all kinds. Of course the tour ends with a little show inviting the most curious to attend workshops to unveil a little, the mystery of magic.

address
11, rue saint Paul
75004 Paris
access
Métro St Paul, Bastille L1,L4,L5,L7
opening_times
Open Wednesdays ,Saturdays and Sundays from 2 pm to 7 pm.
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 42 72 13 26
website_url
http://www.museedelamagie.com

Place des Vosges

The Former Royal Square

Expand

The oldest square in Paris was inaugurated in 1612 under the name of Place Royal during the wedding of Louis XIII and Anne of Austria. This square is an example of discipline and harmony ; it is almost square-shaped, measuring 127 meters by 140 and it is surrounded by 36 pavilions, nine on each side. The pavilions have beautiful red brick facades with a chain of white limestone. We should note the boldness of the construction as if the appearance is of stone and brick, in reality it is only a beautiful pattern on a piece of wood covered with plaster. The high blue slate roofs are pierced with ox-eye windows. The pavilions of the king and queen, north and south of the square, are higher than the others. On the ground floor, the vaulted arches also dressed in red brick and white stone shelter shopping galleries attracting many walkers. A garden and four fountains, designed after the drawings of Jean Ménager, occupy the center of the square. In this garden stands an equestrian statue of Louis XIII carved by Jean Pierre Cortot and Charles Dupaty. The Marquise de Sévigné was born here in 1626, and Victor Hugo lived here for 16 years ; his house is now a museum. The square has been listed as a historical monument since 1954.

address
Place des Vosges
75004 Paris
access
Métro St Paul L1

Cognacq-Jay Museum

An exceptional collection of works of art of the eighteenth century

Expand

The Cognacq-Jay Museum collects the 18th century works acquired between 1900 and 1927 by Ernest Cognacq, the founder of the large stores Samaritaine, and his wife Marie-Louise Jay. When he died in 1928, Ernest Cognacq bequeathed his collections to the City of Paris in order to continue the exhibition of his works, illustrating the Enlightenment Century, in front of the public. Opened in 1929 in a building near the Samaritaine de Luxe store on the Capucines boulevard, the museum moved to Hotel Donon, historic building in Marais, in 1990. Constructed in 1575 by Médéric de Donon, the Controller-General of the Royal Buildings, the Hotel Donon illustrates the inventiveness of architecture in the time of Henri IV. Around a rectangular courtyard, the main body stands over two storeys of cellars serving as kitchen. The two upper floors are identical, topped by another square floor and a gabled roof giving it the look of a pyramidal. The naked consoles emphasise the mouldings and the roundness of the skylights in this building made elegant by its sobriety. The mansion’s garden, accessible via Rue Payenne, continues the tradition of French-style gardens.

address
8 rue Elzevir
75004 Paris
access
Métro Saint-Paul L1 Chemin-Vert L8
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 10 am to 6 pm
price
Free access
phone_number
+33 1 40 27 07 21
website_url
http://www.museecognacqjay.paris.fr

Musée Picasso Paris

Te Beautiful Hotel Salé

Expand

Today the Picasso Museum, this mansion was built in 1659 by the architect Jean Boullier de Bourges. It is a massive building, made of pale freestone. The garden façade has two small wings on the sides. The central front body surmounted by a pediment where 2 dogs frame a medallion, is slightly projected forward. The windows are tall and narrow, and the solid space between them has approximately the same width as one of them. Composed of three levels, the gambrel roof was built to contain a fourth one. Black wrought iron guardrails adorn each window. In the courtyard, the architect developed a crescendo decoration for the entrance. The small masonry above the door follows a triangular pediment with a single row of pierces that is itself topped by a second more imposing pediment, placed on the attic, with a curvilinear shape and embracing three rows of windows.

address
5 rue de Thorigny
75003 Paris
access
Métro Saint Sebastien-Froissart L8
opening_times
Tuesday to friday 11:30 am to 6 pm WE from 9:30 am to 6 pm
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 85 56 00 36
website_url
http://www.museepicassoparis.fr

Musée de la Chasse et de la Nature

Housed in the beautiful Hôtel de Guénégaud

Expand

The Museum of Hunting and Nature is a private museum with collections of the Foundation of the House of Hunting and Nature. These collections are composed of paintings (by Desportes, Chardin, Oudry, Vernet), hunting weapons, stuffed animals from Africa, America and Asia, as well as many objects of art. Sheltered by the Guénégaud Hotel (masterpiece by François Mansart and a historical monument) and the Mongelas Hotel in the Marais district, the museum gives the opportunity to admire the beautiful aristocratic mansions of the 17th and 18th centuries.

address
Rue des Archives
75003 Paris
access
Métro Rambuteau L11
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 11 am to 6 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 53 01 92 40
website_url
http://www.chassenature.org

Uniqlo le Marais

From the Last Factory to Uniqlo

Expand

Located in the former factory of the Company Ash (800m2), built in the mid 19th century, Uniqlo offers a selection of men and women collections. Designed by Wonderwall, the interior design company based in Tokyo, the new store in the Marais includes high-tech facilities, including monitors and LED banners.

address
39 Rue des Francs Bourgeois
75004 Paris
access
Métro Saint-Paul L1
opening_times
Monday to Friday 11am to 8pm - Saturday and Sunday 10am to 8pm
phone_number
+33 1 53 01 87 87
website_url
http://www.uniqlo.com/fr/shop/…

Derriere

A restaurant as a home

Expand

Derriere si located in a courtyard and offers traditional cuisine. We also come here to walk into the rooms as in an apartment, admire the decor or play table tennis !

address
69 Rue des Gravilliers
75003 Paris
access
Métro Arts et Métiers L3
opening_times
Monday-saturday : noon to 2:30pm and 8pm to 11:30. Sunday 8pm to 11pm and brunch from noon to 4:30pm.
phone_number
+ 33 1 44 61 91 95
website_url
http://derriere-resto.com/fr/restaurant/…

Carnavalet Museum

The History of Paris

Expand

The Carnavalet Museum dedicated to the history of Paris and its inhabitants, preserves the collections that illustrate the evolution of the city from prehistoric times to the present day. It displays in a hundred rooms a wide selection of artworks, souvenirs and models showing the appearance of the Capital at different times and evoking its daily and intellectual life. The magnificent reconstructed historic decoration compose an evocative setting for a walk through the centuries, source of both enrichment and entertainment. The Hotel Carnavalet and the Pelletier Saint Fargeau Hotel house the museum. The Carnavalet Hotel is one of the few witnesses of the Renaissance architecture in Paris ; it was built from 1548 for Jacques Ligneris, who was then the President of the Parliament. In 1578, the children of Jacques de Ligneris sold the hotel to the widow of a Breton gentleman, François de Kernevenoy ; the distortion of this name led to Carnavalet, the name that the hotel still has today. Starting with 1654, the new owner, Claude Boislève commissioned François Mansart to extend this house where Madame de Sévigné was a tenant between 1677 and 1696.

address
25 Rue des Francs Bourgeois
75004 Paris
access
Métro Saint-Paul L1 Chemin vert L8
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 10 am to 6 pm
price
Free access
phone_number
+33 1 44 59 58 58
website_url
http://www.carnavalet.paris.fr/fr/accueil

National Archives Museum

Hotels Soubise and Rohan, wonders of the Marais

Expand

The Museum of the National Archives permanently displays remarkable documents from the National Archives, as well as alternating temporary exhibitions. The museum displays some great documents in the history of France, such as the Diploma of Charlemagne, the foundation of the Sainte-Chapelle, the last letter of Marie Antoinette or the Constitution of the Vth Republic. Two magnificent Mansions, hotels Soubise and Rohan, house the museum, opposing each other, separated by a garden opened to the public as well. They are marks of history and are named after their famous patrons. The Hotel de Soubise, the older of the two, still keeps a mark of its first construction in the 14th century with an entrance and two watchtowers facing the Archives Street. After various rearrangements of the building by the descendants of the Duke of Guise, in the early 18th century, the architect Pierre-Alexis Delamair gave this house its present appearance, with its half-moon-shaped Court of Honor bordered by a colonnade. At the same time, the son of the owners of the Hotel de Soubise, the future Cardinal de Rohan built the Hotel de Rohan, sharing the garden with the Hotel de Soubise. In 1700 François de Rohan, Duke of Soubise bought the Hotel the Guise and commissioned to Pierre-Alexis Delamaire the development of a truly princely residence on the Guise estate, whose original hotel was only a small part of this large house. Indeed, the Court of Honour, whose entrance opens onto the Francs-Bourgeois Street, has the shape of a horseshoe. It is surrounded by a peristyle with 56 coupled columns with composite capitals, whose top forms a lined terrace and a balustrade. Furthermore, in the back of the courtyard, the harmonious façade by Delamaire displays a three row front body with two floors of double columns superimposed between them. The triangular pediment that surmounts it has lost its coat of arms, but on the slopes there can still be seen the allegories of Glory and Magnificence by Robert Le Lorrain. Additionally, the four groups of children placed at the corners of the roof, symbolizing the Spirits of Arts were made by the same sculptor, as were the sculptures of the four seasons decorating the first floor, now replaced by copies.

address
60, rue des Francs-Bourgeois
75003 Paris
access
Métro Rambuteau L11, Arts et Métiers L3
opening_times
Monday to friday from 10 am to 5:30 pm Saturday to sunday from 2 pm to 5:30 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 27 60 96
website_url
http://www.archives-nationales.culture.gou…

Tour Jean Sans Peur

A medieval tower in the heart of Paris

Expand

Built between 1409 and 1411, the Jean sans Peur tower is the only evidence of one of the largest Parisian medieval houses, the Hotel de Bourgogne, whose surface was estimated at one hectare. It was named after its sponsor, the regent of the kingdom during the reign of King Charles VI. On 6 May 1270, Robert d'Artois, nephew of St. Louis, bought a house on the "Pointe Saint- Eustache". In 1369, the hotel d’Artois became Hotel de Bourgogne following a union between the two families. Back then, the estate included the area limited by the Saint-Denis, Montorgueil, Tiquetonne and Mauconseil Streets and covered more than one hectare. The Tower is a practically intact medieval monument whose 5 levels that can be visited, including a princely staircase or a "large screw" ended by a plant-sculpted vault unique in France, comfortable rooms equipped with latrines (one of the rooms was restored together with its furniture and decoration).

address
20, rue Etienne Marcel
75002 PARIS
access
Métro Etienne Marcel L4
opening_times
From Wednesday to Sunday from 1:30 pm to 6 pm
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 26 20 28
website_url
http://www.tourjeansanspeur.com

DAY 4

From Invalides to Quartier Latin

Invalides

The Tomb of Napoleon

Expand

Originally, the residence of the invalids should have only included a small chapel dedicated to Saint Louis. But when Jules Hardoin Mansart became head of the construction site in 1679, he decided to extend the chapel with a second square-shaped one, topped by a huge dome of over 107 meters, with lead roofing covered with gold leaf. This chapel was intended as a royal entrance, entirely separated from the one of the soldiers’. For this, it is possible that the architect used a project of his uncle, François Mansart, elaborated for a rotunda for the Bourbons’ chapel at St. Denis, which was never realized. The monument was almost finished at the time of Mansart’s death, and it was Robert de Cotte who made the ornamentation of the church. It became a military burial under Napoleon’s rule and it now shelters the tomb of the Emperor, as well as his son’s, in the crypt arranged in the 19th century.

address
esplanade des invalides
75007 Paris
access
Métro La Tour Maubourg L8
opening_times
From april to october : From 10:00 am to 6:00 pm From november to march : From 10:00 am to 5:00 pm
price
Less than 10 €
website_url
http://www.vizibook.com/fr/books/…

Musée Rodin

Sculptures and garden

Expand

The Rodin Museum was established in 1916 at the initiative of Rodin, thanks to three successive donations of his works, collections, library, letters and manuscripts, which he had granted to the state. The museum was established on the site chosen by the sculptor : the Hotel Biron and its garden, a mansion built in the early 18th century that Rodin occupied as a tenant after 1908. He has also donated his residence in Meudon, the Villa des Brillants, which is now an annex of the museum. The internationally renowned artist, author of sculptures universally known, such as the Thinker, an icon of Western art, or The Kiss, contributes to the reputation of the place. Close to the Hotel des Invalides, this mansion, was built by the architect Jean Aubert in a Louis XV style, on a three hectare plot, from 1727 to 1732, for the financier Abraham Peyrenc Moras and was bought in 1753 by marshal Biron who completely remodelled the park. In 1905 the hotel was confiscated by the state. It remained unoccupied and gradually fell apart. In 1916, Rodin suggested to give all his works to the state, provided that the hotel Biron became the Rodin Museum. In the beginning of the 20th century, the courtyard façade was bordered by two low walls that isolated the outbuildings and a small garden was installed there on the left. On the main house, one could see a clock on the pediment and a small tower on the roof, but they both disappeared after the restoration. Today only remains the main body of the independent building that does not really corresponds to the typology of the mansions as it was separated from the street, an inconvenience that gives it a rustic aspect. On the façade, the architect played with the alternation of straight windows, arched ones and arc segment ones, decorated with masks. The pediment in the central part represents Flora and Zephyr.

address
79 Rue de Varenne
75007 Paris
access
Métro Varenne L13
opening_times
From 10 am to 5:45 pm closes on mondays
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 44 18 61 10
website_url
http://www.musee-rodin.fr

The Maillol Museum

"Giacometti" Exhibition

Expand

The exhibition present more than 50 sculptures by the artist, all of which are from the Fondation Giacometti collection, complemented by around 25 works by other major artists such as Rodin, Bourdelle, Maillol, Despiau, Brancusi, Laurens, Lipchitz, Zadkine, Csaky, and Richier.
Via a chronological and thematic itinerary, the exhibition highlight Giacometti’s relations with these artists at each stage of the development of his style. The itinerary thus shed new light on the little-known pre-war period : the first section of the exhibition is devoted to Giacometti’s early works, which still bear the influences of classical modernism (Despiau and Maillol), and then another larger section will be devoted to the discovery of the Parisian avant-garde artists after 1925 (Zadkine, Lipchitz, and Csaky).
The lure of abstraction, on the fringe of surrealism, is highlighted via fascinating comparisons (Brancusi and Laurens). The exhibition focus on the artist’s return to figurative work based on the study of models and explore his mature style. There is many thematic comparisons with Rodin, Bourdelle, and Maillol : the motif of the head, the bases of the works, and inspiration from early antiquity.

From September 14 to January 20, 2019
Every day from 10 : 30 am to 6 : 30 pm
Nocturnal on Friday until 8 : 30 pm.
Full price : 13, 5 € - Reduced price : 11, 5 €

The Maillol Museum

Founded in 1995 by Dina Vierny, the muse of sculptor Aristide Maillol, it displays the numerous works of the artist, as well as an important collection of modern art of the 20th century painting, sculpture and drawing. Temporary exhibitions are dedicated to the art of the 20th century and the 21st century. The Dina Vierny Fondation - Maillol Museum was recognized as public utility by the French State. It is recognized as the Foundation in the US law.

address
61 Rue de Grenelle
75007 Paris
access
Métro Rue du Bac L12
opening_times
From 10:30 am to 7 pm
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 42 22 59 58
website_url
http://www.museemaillol.com

Tour Montparnasse

An exceptional point of view !

Expand

The tower was part of the program for the redevelopment of the Montparnasse district, rearranged after the last war. Works began in 1969 and a myriad of architects such as Eugène Baudoin, Urbain Cassan, Louis Hoyn of Maryen, Jean Saubat… participated in the project. Its ovoid architecture, which sinks to almost 70 meters into the ground, revolves around a concrete core housing the vertical circulation (25 lifts). With a height of 210 metres, a record for Paris, its 58 floors house offices and also a place to admire the panorama of Paris on the 56th floor, that allows one to fully appreciate the view thanks to its teaching and multimedia equipment. Its appearance is like a big bronze block, whose 12, 000 fluorescent tubes outline the floors at night. Finally, its roof is a heliport terrace and also serves as a radio relay.

address
33 av du Maine
75015 Paris
access
Métro Montparnasse Bienvenue L4,L6,L12

La Coupole Brasserie

A Beautiful Art Deco Monument

Expand

A symbol of the Art Deco, the Coupole was founded in 1927 by two Auvergne natives : Ernest Fraux and his younger brother-in-law, René Lafon, former managers of the Dôme. It had to delimit itself in this perimeter where there already were two important brasseries : the name "La Coupole" was chosen by reference to those of its neighbouring establishments, "Le Dôme" and "La Rotonde". The architects Barillet and Le Bouc, winner of the Grand Prix de Rome, who were in charge of the architecture and Alphonse Louis Solvet and his son Paul who took care of the decoration. At its opening on 20 December, 1927, 1200 bottles of Mumm champagne were emptied and the success was immediate. Derain, Léger, Soutine, Man Ray, Brassai, Kisling, Picasso, Aragon and Elsa, Simenon, Josephine Baker, Breton, Chirico, Kessel, Henry Miller, Matisse, Joyce, Mistinguett, Yves Klein, César, Jean-Paul Sartre, have spent many memorable evenings in this legendary place of the Roaring Twenties.

address
102 boulevard Montparnasse
75014 Paris
access
Métro Vavin L4
opening_times
Monday to saturday from 8:30 am to 2:30 pm and from 6:30 pm to midnight. Sunday from 8:30 am to 11 pm
phone_number
+33 1 43 20 14 20
website_url
http://www.lacoupole-paris.com

Musée d'Orsay

A museum in a station

Expand

The Orsay Museum is a national museum opened in 1986 after the redevelopment of the old Gare d'Orsay (The Orsay Train Station), built by Victor Laloux between 1898 and 1900. Its collections present the Western art from 1848 to 1914 (painting, sculpture, decorative arts, graphic art, photography, architecture, etc.). The museum has the largest collection of Impressionist works in the world.

address
62 rue de Lille
75007 Paris
access
Métro Solférino L12
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 9:30 am to 9h45 pm
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 49 48 14
website_url
http://www.musee-orsay.fr/fr/accueil.html

The Orsay Museum

"Picasso. Blue and Rose" Exhibition

Expand

The Musée d’Orsay and the Musée national Picasso-Paris are organising an exceptional event dedicated to Pablo Picasso’s blue and rose periods. This exhibition is the first large-scale collaboration between our two museums. It features masterpieces and proposes a new interpretation on the years 1900-1906, a critical period in the artist’s career which to date has not been covered in its entirety by a French museum.
The presentation of this exhibition at the Musée d'Orsay demonstrates the desire to include the young Picasso in his time and reconsider his work under the prism of his belonging to the nineteenth century.
The exhibition will bring together a large number of paintings and drawings with the aim of presenting a comprehensive overview of the artist’s sculptures and engravings between 1900 and 1906.

18 September 2018 - 6 January 2019
open from 9.30am to 6pm daily, except Mondays
late night on Thursdays until 9.45pm
Ticket : 14 € - Reduiced Rate 11 €

The Orsay Museum

The Orsay Museum is a national museum opened in 1986 after the redevelopment of the old Gare d'Orsay (The Orsay Train Station), built by Victor Laloux between 1898 and 1900. Its collections present the Western art from 1848 to 1914 (painting, sculpture, decorative arts, graphic art, photography, architecture, etc.). The museum has the largest collection of Impressionist works in the world.

address
62 rue de Lille
75007 Paris
access
Métro Solférino L12
opening_times
Tuesday to sunday from 9:30 am to 9h45 pm
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 40 49 48 14
website_url
http://www.musee-orsay.fr/fr/accueil.html

Dinner Cruise on the Seine

Diner Cruise La Marina de Paris

Expand

Rendez-vous right in the heart of Paris, for an unforgettable discovery of the city. Welcomed on-board in a warm and friendly atmosphere, you will be enchanted by the charm of the Seine as night gently falls over the finest monuments of Paris, while enjoying a tasting menu. An exceptional gastronomical moment offered by our Chef and his team.

The menu is composed of a starter with four options, a main course of your choosing, and a dessert also proposed with four options and a glass of wine. Boarding starts at 6 : 15 pm in front of the Musée d’Orsay.

Each night : Departure 18h45 - Cruise Time 1h15
Starting from 60 €

Dinner Cruise on the Seine

Comfortably seated around a gourmet and sophisticated meal, enjoy the privileged views of the Conciergerie, the Notre Dame Cathedral, the Louvre, the National Assembly, the Statue of Liberty, the Eiffel Tower and of course the stunning bridges that cross the Seine. At night, with its illuminated façades, the capital seems a huge stage set whose beauty attracts more and more visitors from around the world !

address
La Marina de Paris - Port Solferino - 23 Quai Anatole France
75007 Paris
access
Métro Assemblée Nationale L12
opening_times
Every night - Departure: 9:15 pm
price
Between 75€ and 100€
phone_number
+33 1 43 43 40 30
website_url
http://www.marina-de-paris.com

Palais de l'Institut de France

By Mazarin

Expand

The history of the Institute de France is very long ; it begins with Cardinal Mazarin, who demanded in his will that a part of his fortune was to be used to establish a college that would shelter 60 grant holders of the four regions under its aegis. It was Louis Le Vau who realized the plans and the college received its first residents in 1688. The building was closed in 1793 to become a prison and afterwards a sugar warehouse, and it was returned to science only in 1805 by Napoleon, who established there the Institute de France, founded in 1795. Today this majestic building houses five academies : the French Academy, created in 1635 and in charge of the publishing of the dictionary ; the Academy of Humanities, founded by Colbert in 1663, in charge of the heritage and the language ; the Academy of Sciences, established in 1666, the Academy of Fine Arts (unchanged since 1803) and the Academy of Moral and Political Sciences since 1795. The building is a beautiful example of classicism with some elements borrowed from the Italian Renaissance that are visible on the dome, the pillars and the pediment of the central front body. The semicircular façades were symmetrical to those of the Louvre, before the construction of the Perrault wing.
Note that the Mazarin Library was the first public library in France ; it was the cardinal himself who had opened it for consultation before he bequeathed it to college.

address
23 quai de Conti
75006 Paris
access
Métro Pont Neuf L7
website_url
http://www.institut-de-france.fr

Musée National Eugène Delacroix

Studio and Garden

Expand

This museum used to be the painter’s studio from 1857. He moved there to be closer to the Saint Sulpice Church, whose chapel he would have decorated ; he remained there until his death in 1863. “My accommodation is really charming (…). Woke up the next morning seeing the most gracious sun over the houses that are in front of my window. The view of my little garden and the funny aspect of my studio always give me a feeling of pleasure.” (Journal, 28 December 1857). The Société des Amis d’Eugène Delacroix, known for public usefulness, looked after the studio and promoted the artist’s work, until the national museum was created in 1971 and the building was classified as a historical monument in 1991. The museum displays a number of the painter’s works such as The Entombment of Christ and the Road to Calvary, various drawings, watercolours, self-portraits and a series of lithographic stones and copies of the frescoes on the ceiling of the library of the Chamber of deputies.

address
6 rue Furstenberg
75006 Paris
access
Métro Saint-Germain-des-Prés, L4, Mabillon, L10
opening_times
From 9:30 am to 5 pm Closes tuesday
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 44 41 86 50
website_url
http://www.musee-delacroix.fr/fr

Eglise Saint Germain des Prés

Since year 1000 !

Expand

This church, one of the few built in the style of Romanesque architecture of the capital, was erected at the end of the 10th century, around year 1000. But its history is much older. Actually, a previous church, destroyed in the Romanic period, was founded on the same location in the 6th century in order to shelter, as legend has it, fragments of the cross of Christ and of the tunic of Saint Vincent. It must also be noted that this is where the kings were buried before Dagobert choose the abbey of Saint- Denis, in the 7th century. In the 13th century, Pierre de Montreuil erected monastic buildings around the church. Later, in the 18th century, the enclosure sheltered a real small town with numerous possessions (today the 6th and the 7th arrondissements) and depended directly on the pope. Finally, after the war, it became the epicentre of the Latin Quarter and the intellectual melting pot of the time. Regarding the architecture, the Saint Germain des Prés Church has obviously been reshaped since the 11th century, despite the efforts of Etienne-Hippolyte Godde and Victor Baltard to restore it. However its bell tower remains one of the oldest in France, although there have been three originally. The flying buttresses that have been added on the side of Boulevard Saint-Germain are considered the oldest in Île de France. The interior is garnished with incredibly rich ornaments, beautiful capitals and many frescoes (from the 19th century). Finally, the nave, although typical for the Romanesque architecture, was endowed with ribbed vaults in the 17th century.

address
place Saint-Germain-des-Prés
75006 Paris
access
Métro Saint Germain des Prés L4
price
Free access
phone_number
+33 1 55 42 81 10
website_url
http://www.eglise-sgp.org/site_v3/wordpress

Les Deux Magots

A Legend !

Expand

Originally, the name “Les Deux Magots” was the emblem of a drapery shop located at the 23 rue de Buci then, in 1885, at 6 place Saint-Germain-des-Prés, a liquorish café succeeded it, keeping the same emblem. Among its regulars the café welcomed great monuments of literature like Rimbaud, Verlaine or Mallarmé. Today the two statues that decorate the room are vestiges of the drapery shops. Since 1933 the Deux Magots prize (Prix des Deux Magots) has been a homage to its famous regulars. It’s without a doubt the reason for which the artists and intellectuals have never abandoned it. Indeed, in the years 50-60, they made it their headquarters, most notably together with Elsa Triolet, André Gide, Giraudoux, Picasso, Fernand Léger, Prévert, Sartre, Simone de Beauvoir…

address
170 Boulevard Saint-Germain
75006 Paris
access
Métro Mabillon L10
opening_times
From 7:30 am to 1 am
phone_number
+33 1 45 48 55 25
website_url
http://www.lesdeuxmagots.fr/fr/…

Luxembourg Palace

From Marie de Médicis to the French Senate

Expand

Disappointed by the Louvre, that was still under construction, Marie de' Medici decided in 1612 to acquire the small Luxembourg (current residence of the President of the Senate). In order to be closer to her native Florence, she commissioned to Salomon de Brosse an Italian style extension, but still in the line of French architecture, the Luxembourg Palace as such. This displays bossage elements of architecture, typical of the Florentine art. We should remember that the Florentine Palace de' Medici was the first building decorated in this manner. The widow of Henry IV established her residence here from 1625 to 1631, when she had to leave Paris after a dispute with Richelieu. This palace was the property of many personalities including the Grande Mademoiselle (Anne Marie Louise d'Orléans de Montpensier) or the future Louis XVIII. During the Revolution, the palace served as prison for Danton and Camille Desmoulins before becoming the Senate headquarters in 1799, which it still is today. Jean-François Chalgrin reshaped the interior in the neoclassical style. The current hemicycle dates from 1835 and it is the work of Alphonse de Gisors.

address
15bis Rue de Vaugirard
75006 Paris
access
Métro Odéon L 4,10
opening_times
One Saturday a month , from 10 am to 2:3 pm
phone_number
+33 1 42 34 20 00
website_url
http://www.senat.fr/visite

The Luxembourg Museum

"Alphonse Mucha" Exhibition

Expand

Born in 1860 in the small town of Ivancice, Alphonse Mucha became famous in 1895 in Paris, with Gismonda, his first poster for Sarah Bernhardt (1844-1923), the greatest actress of the time. As a poster artist, Mucha developed a very personal style, the "Mucha style", characterised by sinuous forms mixing young women, floral motifs and ornamental lines, as well as a subtle range of pastel shades. This style would soon embody the movement emerging at the time in the decorative arts – Art Nouveau. While he is famous for his posters, Mucha was a versatile artist : painter, sculptor, photographer, decorator and also a valued teacher. During his first trip to the United States in 1904, he was called "the greatest decorative artist in the world". But his political and humanist beliefs led him to gradually give up this decorative style and to undertake cycles of history painting, sometimes in very large format, in a militant and idealistic spirit. Thus, around 1900-1910, he changed and supported resolutely figurative and epic paintings, detached from all the European avant-garde artists. His late works bear witness to his dream of unity among all Slav peoples, notably The Slavic Epic (1912-1926), a cycle composed of twenty monumental paintings. This exhibition traces the career of Mucha and draws the portrait of a complex artist, driven by a social and philosophical vision.

12 September 2018 to 27 January 2019
Every day 10.30 am to 7 pm.
Nocturne until 10 pm every fridays
Full Rate : 13 € - Reduced : 9 €

The Luxembourg Museum

The Luxembourg Museum was the first French museum opened to the public in 1750 and in 1818 it became the first contemporary art museum. Its history is closely linked to that of the Luxembourg Palace, where it was first installed, and to that of the Senate, which is responsible for the construction of the current building in 1884. Since 2000, the Luxembourg Museum has reconnected to its history, as the Senate has been again in charge with its management.

address
19 rue de Vaugirard
75006 Paris
access
Métro Saint-Sulpice L4 ou Mabillon L10
opening_times
Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday 10 am to 7 pm - Monday and Friday 10 am to 10 pm - Saturday and Sunday 9 am to 8 pm
phone_number
+33 1 40 13 62 00
website_url
http://museeduluxembourg.fr

Paradis Latin

Paradis Latin Cabaret

Expand

Paradis Latin presents its show and hosts prestigious artists. A fabulous cocktail of spectacular attractions and an amazing French Cancan !

Show only 60 €

Paradis Latin

The Paradis Latin is the oldest cabaret in Paris. Its origin dates back to 1802 when the First Consul Napoleon Bonaparte built the Latin theatre.

address
25 Rue du Cardinal Lemoine
75005 Paris
access
Métro Cardinal Lemoine L10
opening_times
See programming
price
From 50 to 75 €
phone_number
+33 1 43 25 28 28
website_url
http://www.paradislatin.com

Middle Age Museum

An Important Medieval Collection

Expand

A magnificent setting, the Hotel de Cluny, built in the 15th century in Gothic style, leaning against the Gallo-Roman thermal baths, hosts this Museum of the Middle Ages under the supervision of the Commission des Monuments Historiques (Commission of Historical Monuments). Exceptional collections from the Antiquity to the Renaissance delight the visitor who can discover the medieval world in all its forms : daily life, arts, architecture, techniques and materials. The treasures of this museum are unique and allow a real leap into history. Originally, the Hotel de Cluny was built in 1498 to serve as a Parisian residence to the abbots of Cluny. Exceptional testimony of medieval civil architecture, built in pure flamboyant Gothic style, the building was bought by the state and opened to the public in 1844. Most of its exterior decoration was modernized in the 19th century. This is the case of the front door and its sculptures representing leaves, grapes and fantastic animals. This door has two openwork metal railings allowing to see the outside. Just below, a very simple pendant decorated with a crest serves as knocker. Fun fact : on the left, at the bell’s level, the mouth of a dog greets the visitors…

address
Place Paul Painlevé
75005 Paris
access
Métro Cluny-La Sorbonne L10
opening_times
From 9:15 am to 5:45 pm closes tuesday
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 53 73 78 00
website_url
http://www.musee-moyenage.fr

The Sorbonne

University since 1257

Expand

Founded in the 13th century, at a time when students began to flow into Paris, the college created by Robert de Sorbon in 1257 was soon to acquire a brilliant reputation. The institution, with a large library, a chapel and dormitories for the comfort of its students, was associated indeed with the faculty of theology, and has lastingly established in the heart of the medieval Paris. From century to century, the college, which was later called "The Sorbonne", played an increasing role in the life of the kingdom of France, was actively involved in the intellectual debate, and has relentlessly continued its teaching duty. In 1622, his illustrious headmaster and soon to be Cardinal Richelieu, looking for a place to shelter his own tomb, undertook major renovation works and also began the construction of a chapel. This was the start of a constant modernization of the buildings, as the reputation of the University continued to expand throughout Europe. From 1881 to 1901 a new construction site unified the buildings, under the auspices of the rector Gréard. The architecture of the place was not changed significantly. Established by the Decree of 23 December 1970, the Paris-Sorbonne University as we know it is, alongside the other twelve universities of Paris, a successor to the long cultural and intellectual tradition of the University of Paris. It is specialized in teaching literary disciplines and social sciences. Visits can be organized with prior reservation.

address
1 Rue Victor Cousin
75005 Paris
access
Métro La Sorbonne L10
opening_times
Visit on demand : Visites.Sorbonne@ac-paris.fr
phone_number
+33 1 40 46 22 11
website_url
http://www.paris-sorbonne.fr

Collège des Bernardins

A thirteenth century Cistercian building

Expand

The Gothic Room of the College of the Bernardines is a true masterpiece of the Cistercian architecture. With a length of 70 meters and consisting of three majestic aisles, it dates from the founding of the college in 1246. After various uses, including as a dump for future convicts during the Revolution or a fire station in 1845, four years of an exemplary restoration were necessary to revive the old building, the training venue of the Cistercian monks. Acquired by the diocese of Paris, this magnificent building is now a cultural and spiritual centre, "an area for research and debate for the church and society." The program includes concerts, conferences and exhibitions of contemporary art. The visit of the Gothic Room is free during opening hours.

address
20 Rue de Poissy
75005 Paris
access
Métro Cardinal Lemoine ou Maubert-Mutualité L10
opening_times
Monday to saturday from 10/ am to 6 pm Sunday from 2 pm to 6 pm
price
Free access
phone_number
+33 1 53 10 74 44
website_url
http://www.collegedesbernardins.fr

Saint-Julien-le-Pauvre Church

Many Concerts in one of the Oldest Church

Expand

The church was built on the site of a former oratory from the 6th century. At that time, we were at the meeting point of the roads leading to Lyon and Orleans, where there was a hospice for travelers and poor pilgrims. Around 1120, the building was sold by the Normans to the monks of the Abbey of Longpont which, around 1170, erected a new church on the foundations of the ancient sanctuary. For nearly three centuries, it was a privileged place for nearby scholars and sheltered illustrious hosts such as Dante or Thomas Aquinas… But after the relocation of the University, this place fell into a state of disuse. The restoration works undertaken in 1651 led to the destruction of the Gothic façade and of the first two bays on the western side and also to the building of the mediocre façade that still stands today. However, some Romanesque architecture features still remain, such as fragments of galleries or the small columns with capitals. In 1655, Saint Julien became a dependency of the Hôtel-Dieu before being turned into a salt warehouse during the revolution. It was returned to the Church in 1826 when architects François-Chretiens Gau and Jean- Jacques Huvé began to return it its past magnificence. Since 1889, Saint-Julien- le-Pauvre has been dedicated to the Melkite cult, an Eastern Rite connected to Rome.

address
1 Rue Saint-Julien le Pauvre
75005 Paris
access
Métro Cluny La Sorbonne L10
price
Free access

Panthéon

Discover the great personalities buried in the crypt

Expand

Dominated by an 83 meters high dome and consisting of three concentric superimposed domes, the Panthéon is a masterpiece of 18th century French architecture. This sanctuary has its origin in the Louis XV’s wish to show gratitude for having been saved from the disease in 1744. Thus the decision was taken to replace the collapsing Parisian abbey church of Saint Genevieve, with a new, more imposing building. The completion of the task was entrusted to the architect Germain Soufflot, who advocated for the return to the classical order. He designed a building which, according to his words, "brings together the lightness of Gothic architecture with the beauty of the Greek architecture" particularly through vaults falling on columns. During the revolution, and more precisely in 1791, the church was converted into a pantheon, which cost it its bell towers and side openings. Its first occupants were Mirabeau, followed by Voltaire and Rousseau in 1794. The church was twice returned to the Church (under Napoleon I and III) and it was during the third republic when it received the status we know today. The remains of Victor Hugo were moved here on 1 June, 1885, accompanied by a huge crowd. Nowadays, more than 70 major figures rest under the frieze of the Panthéon dedicated "To the great men, the grateful homeland".

address
Place du Panthéon
75005 Paris
access
Métro Cardinal Lemoine L10
opening_times
From 10 am to 6 pm
price
Less than 10 €
website_url
http://pantheon.monuments-nationaux.fr

DAY 5

From Grands Boulevards to Bercy

Bus Tour Pass

Bus Tour Pass Open Tour

Expand

Visit Paris on board one of our open-top double-decker buses. Enjoy exceptional views from the top deck, hop on and off as you please on our 4 lines, and visit the city at your own pace !

Adult Pass 32 €

Bus Tour Pass

All Paris in a single pass, 4 lines, 50 stops and more than 100 landmarks. Visit Paris by an open-top bus. Enjoy the exceptional sights from the upper deck ; freely hop on and off 4 tours and visit the city at your own pace.

address
13 rue Auber
75009 Paris
opening_times
From 9:20 am to 7 pm
price
From 20 to 30 €
phone_number
+33 1 44 55 61 00
website_url
http://paris.opentour.com

Harry's Bar

An American Bar since 1911

Expand

The Harry's Bar was founded in 1911. It is a Manhattan bar that was dismantled in order to be entirely shifted to the Daunou Street in Paris. The decoration dates from 1860 and it is made of mahogany wood. Originally, the bar was called the New York Bar and then it became Harry’s, named after its founder Harry MacElhone. Since 1911, the MacElhone family has been at the helm of the place. Harry transmitted the reins to Andrew who in turn passed them on to Duncan and next to Franz Arthur. Harry's Bar is famous among the American community because it organises since 1924 a straw vote that starting a month before the official Election Day in the United States, allowing American in Paris to vote during the electoral period. Provisional results are published on a regular basis. This vote has become a real institution, more reliable than the polling agencies altogether. Indeed, Harry's was been wrong only twice in 25 elections.

address
8 Rue Daunou
75002 Paris
access
Métro Opéra L 3,7,8
opening_times
From 12 am to 2 am and 3 am at WE
phone_number
+33 1 42 61 71 14
website_url
http://www.harrysbar.fr/homepage

Passage Jouffroy

A beautiful Covered Passage

Expand

The Jouffroy Passage was opened in 1845 on the site of the gardens of the Aguado Hotel. It was named after the Count of Jouffroy-Gonsans, one of the promoters of the passage (and son of the inventor of the steamboat). The architects Destailleurs and Romain de Bourge had to narrow the northern part of the passage and make a double bend because of the irregular size of the plots they had. This passage is the first to be built entirely of iron and heated by the ground ; it is angled at the level of the Hotel Chopin (a regular customer of the place) whose clock, inaugurated in 1847, marks the hours of the passage. Bordered by small bookstores and curiosity shops, this pleasant passage takes benefit from the frequentation of the Grévin Museum, adjacent to it since 1882. The entrance doors are decorated with curved and triangular pediments that preserved their sculptures.

address
10 Bvd Montmartre
75009 Paris
access
Métro Grands Boulevards L 8, 9
opening_times
From 7 am to 9:3 pm
website_url
http://passagejouffroy.com

Grevin Museum

The Famous Wax Museum

Expand

Contrary to a widespread opinion, the Mme Tussaud's Museum was not the first to become famous for the wax statues, but the one of Curtius, founded after the Revolution. The origin of our Grevin Museum dates back to 1881 when Arthur Meyer wanted to found a new wax museum ; for that he hired a caricaturist of the time, Alfred Grevin. The building of the museum was erected by Esnault-Pelterie between 1881 and 1882 on the site of the Hotel de Ronceray. Even if the street façade describes the multiple charms of the museum, it is undoubtedly that the polychrome carved façade overlooking the Jouffroy passage is the most interesting.

address
10 boulevard Montmartre
75009 Paris
access
Métro Grands Boulevards L8 et L9
opening_times
Monday to friday from 10 am to 6:30 pm WE from 10 am to 7 pm
price
From 20 to 25 €
phone_number
+33 1 47 70 85 05
website_url
http://www.grevin-paris.com/fr

Delaville Café

Since Napoleon III a unique restaurant

Expand

The Bonne-Nouvelle Boulevard was built in the place of the old fortifications of Charles V and Louis III. It was part of the "Grands Boulevards" and in the 19th century Parisians transformed it into a place for promenade and entertainment. Theaters and cafés-concerts are concentrated there, attracting the crowd, which also attracts new facilities. Café Delaville has the same story. Originally it was called the Marguery. It was founded in the 1830s by Jean-Nicolas Marguery who took advantage of the presence of a theater two houses away. As it was successful, the owner expanded his establishment. If you have the opportunity to go in, you will discover a polymorphic place and a large number of rooms with special decorations. The most precious materials adorn the walls, not to mention the ceiling that is completely covered with a mosaic.

address
34 Boulevard de Bonne Nouvelle
75010 Paris
access
Métro Bonne nouvelle L 8,9
opening_times
From 8:30 am to 2 am
price
Between 25€ and 50€
phone_number
+33 1 48 24 48 09
website_url
http://delavillecafe.com

Manoir de Paris

The First Haunted Show in Paris

Expand

The first Haunted Show of France. Come and discover our permanent show. One ticket gives you access to three floors and two different shows : Legends of Paris and Asylum.

address
15 Rue de Paradis
75010 Paris
access
Métro Gare de l'Est L 4,5,7
opening_times
See programming
price
From 20 to 30 €
phone_number
+33 6 70 89 35 87
website_url
http://www.lemanoirdeparis.fr

The Grand Rex

Rex Studios

Expand

The interactive itinerary, Les Etoiles du Rex tour will allow you to (re) discover the backstage of Europe’s largest movie theatre with the help of an audio-guide. You will begin your tour inside a transparent and panoramic elevator that will take you behind the gigantic screen of the Grand Rex. In the heart of this sanctuary dedicated to the seventh art, you will discover a recreated old projection room, see archive images, enter into the Director’s office, do a voiceover for a film clip…Step by step, you actually will be trained throughout this fun and interactive tour, via a backstage mise-en-scene of Europe’s most famous movie theatre.

Duration : 50 mn
Full Price 11 € - Reduced : 9 €

The Grand Rex

It was built in 1932 by Auguste Bluysen and John Eberson after the model of the major American venues like Radio City Music Hall in New York. The great 2000m² hall has a ceiling measuring up to 30 meters representing a starry sky. Originally the cinema was held by workers in livery and white gloves, in a hall that brought together the palms of the Alhambra and the glitter of the East, while its great hall could accommodate up to 3300 people ! It was one of the largest cinemas in Europe and an attraction just like the Eiffel Tower. Its basement even sheltered a kennel, a nursery and a police station. However, as the films diversified, the basement had to make room for three additional rooms and the hall capacity has been reduced to 2, 800 seats for the sake of comfort and safety. Rex is first of all a movie theatre, but it is also the setting for various shows and events. Finally, in 1981, the great hall was listed in the inventory of historical monuments, but as some say, it was already in the history of cinema.

address
1 Bvd Poissonnière
75002 Paris
access
Métro Bonne Nouvelle L8, L9
opening_times
See programming
phone_number
+33 1 45 08 93 89
website_url
http://www.legrandrex.com

Canal Saint Martin

The Trendy District of Paris

Expand

The Saint Martin canal with its nine locks, its swing bridges and trees, offers one of the most pleasant strolling places in Paris. Its neighborhood has become a favorite destination for the “bohos” that make it very lively in the evening. The construction of the canal was decided by Napoleon 1st in 1802 in order to link the Ourcq River with the Seine for supplying the city with water. It was Pierre Simon Girard who was put in charge with the works, further to his study of the Nile’s waters during the Egyptian campaign. A first section was opened in 1808 but it was not completed until 1825. It is 4.5 km long (of which half is underground) and has a depth of 2.20 meters.

address
116 Quai de Jemmapes
75010 Paris
access
Métro République L 3,5,8,9,11, Jaurès L 2,5,7

The Geode

"To the Arctic" Film IMAx®

Expand

An extraordinary journey to the top of the world, the documentary adventure “To The Arctic” reveals a compelling tale of survival.
Narrated by Oscar® winner Meryl Streep, the film takes audiences into the lives of a mother polar bear and her twin seven-month-old cubs as never before captured on film, as they navigate the changing Arctic wilderness they call home.
Captivating and intimate IMAX® footage brings moviegoers up-close and personal with
this family’s struggle in a frigid environment of melting ice, immense glaciers, spectacular waterfalls and majestic snow-bound peaks.

Full Rate : 12 € / Reduces Rate : 9 €

The Geode

The Geode, facing the Cité des Sciences, was designed by Fainsilber. Inaugurated in 1985, it unfolds in the form of a sphere whose mirrorlike surface is covered with 6433 polished stainless steel plates. This is actually a huge cinema, with a hemispheric screen, where 3D movies are projected.

address
Allée du Cercle
75019 Paris
access
Métro Porte de la Villette L7
opening_times
See programming
phone_number
+33 1 40 05 79 99
website_url
http://www.lageode.fr

Hôtel du Nord

The 1930s Paris

Expand

The whole history of this hotel was born in 1929, when the son of the hotel owners, Eugène Dabit, wrote a collection of short stories featuring scenes in the hotel's life, customers and hoteliers. A few years later in 1938, Marcel Carné was very inspired by the book for his international acclaimed film, "Hôtel du Nord". "Atmosphere ? Atmosphere ? Do I look like an atmosphere ?", Arletty’s famous replica to Louis Jouvet is a good summary of the Parisian cheeky humour. Interestingly, there was very little footage shot outside, the hotel and the surrounding area were fully recreated by Alexandre Trauner in the Boulogne-Billancourt studios. In 1984, the building was completely renovated, except the main façade, which was preserved. It has been classified as a historical monument since 1989.

address
102 Quai de Jemmapes
75010 Paris
access
Métro Jacques Bonsergent L5
opening_times
From 10 am to 2 am
price
Less than 25€
phone_number
+33 1 40 40 78 78
website_url
http://www.hoteldunord.org

Pace de la Bastille

The other Opera Square

Expand

The Bastille Square is one of the places that witnessed the French revolution. The Bastille was a fortress built by Charles V in 1370 and turned into a prison by Richelieu. The taking of the Bastille by the people of Saint Antoine on 14 July 1789 is considered the first manifestation of the French Revolution. The first ball of 14 July was celebrated in this square in 1790, on the very ruins of the old Bastille. In the middle of the square has been standing since 1840 The July column that commemorates the "Three Glorious Days". One can also read the following inscription on its marble base : 27, 28, 29 July 1830. At the top of the column there is the "Genius of Liberty", a gilded bronze sculpture by Auguste Dument. The names of the 504 victims of the three revolutionary days of July are engraved on the drums of the column. Place de la Bastille is a festive and lively place with its many cafés and restaurants, but also it often hosts crowds during the various social events.

address
place de la bastille
75012 Paris
access
Métro Bastille L 1,5,8

Atelier des Lumières

"Gustav Klimt" Exhibition

Expand

To mark its opening, the Atelier des Lumières will present an immersive exhibition devoted to the main figures in the Viennese art scene, of which Gustav Klimt was a key figure. To mark the hundredth anniversary of the painter’s death, and that of Egon Schiele, their works will be brought to life to the sound of music on the former foundry’s immense projection surface.

From 13 April to 31 December 2018
Open everyday from 10am to 6pm
Late night opening on Fridays and Saturdays until 10pm
Full rate : 14, 5 € - Reduced rate : 11, 5 €

Atelier des Lumières

Housed in the former Chemin-Vert foundry created by the Pichon brothers in 1835, the Atelier des Lumières is a new center of digital art.
With a surface of 3, 300 m2, the Atelier is dedicated to the monumental reproduction of works of art. Its AMIEX® technology enables immersive art exhibitions thanks to a fantastic installation of video projectors and spatial sound.

address
38 rue Saint-Maur
75011 Paris
access
Metro Rue Saint-Maur L3
opening_times
Open everyday from 10am to 6pm. Late night opening on Fridays and Saturdays until 10 pm.
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+ 33 1 80 98 46 00
website_url
http://www.atelier-lumieres.com

Pachamama

A Latino Restaurant in Paris

Expand

This new Paris dinner-club takes its places just steps from the Bastille, in a historic building of the nineteenth century by Gustave Eiffel.
The Pachamama (formerly Barrio Latino) makes the soul of South America vibrate, recalling according to the time, the gypset spirit of lost paradises, from Tulum to Punta del Este or the effervescence of the favelas of Rio and Palermo. Buenos Aires.
Inspired by the myths and sacred symbols of the pre-Columbian peoples influenced by the Latin traditions of the New World, it hovers in this neo-vintage colonial home, the entire soul of Madre Tierra, revered deity, mother of nature and all beings.
From 5 pm, PACHAMAMA reactivates our chakras and invites to the most beautiful festivals, the place to be for a drink, to dine and to dance all the night.

address
46 Rue du Faubourg Saint-Antoine
75012 Paris
access
Métro Bastille L 1,5,8
opening_times
From 5 pm to 3 am
price
Between 25€ and 50€
phone_number
+33 1 01 55 78 84 75
website_url
http://www.barrio-latino.com

Le Train Bleu

Gorgeous since 1901

Expand

Paris was about to host a major new Universal Exhibition in 1900. After the Saint-Lazare train station in 1889, it was the turn of the Gare de Lyon to take the appearance of a palace, and in particular to magnify the new terminal of Paris Lyon Marseille Company, which operated the lines of the South-East network at the end of the 19th century. The project was entrusted to the architect Marius Toudoire, who built the 64 meters belfry (the Clock-Tower) and the monumental façade of the station.
The Management of the railway company wanted to build a prestigious buffet, symbol of travel, of technical innovation, of comfort and luxury. The project was given to the same architect, who built the buffet in the building at the centre of the station. The station’s buffet was inaugurated in 1901 by the President of the Republic Emile Loubet.
Gildings, carvings, mouldings, chandeliers and frescoes cover all the walls of the restaurant, giving it the appearance of a museum of the 1900s. Twenty seven French artists, some awarded with the Prix de Rome, have worked on this unparalleled decor.
The 41 paintings mounted on canvas were painted by the most prominent artists of the time : François Flameng, Henri Gervex, Gaston Casimir Saint-Pierre, René Billotte, etc. They illustrate views of the main cities and sceneries viewed from the PLM Company trains during the 20th century : Paris, Lyon, Marseille, Orange, Villefranche, Monaco, Nice, Saint-Honorat, the Mont-Blanc massif, etc.
In the traditional French cuisine menu, renewed twice a year, you can find the must-haves : tartar, foie gras, salmon, escargot… In this magical place, all your senses will be excited !

address
Pace Louis Armand
75012 Paris
access
Métro Gare de Lyon L1
opening_times
From 11:30 am to 2:45 pm and to 7 pm to 10:45 pm
price
Between 50€ and 75€
phone_number
+33 1 43 43 09 06
website_url
http://www.le-train-bleu.com

Bercy Village

Christmas animation during December weekends

Expand

Open-air shopping center, a few minutes from the Cinémathèque française. Bercy Village today includes thirty shops and restaurants with terraces.

address
28 Rue François Truffaut
75012 Paris
access
Métro Cour Saint-Emilion L14
opening_times
Every days 11am to 9pm
website_url
http://www.bercyvillage.com

Carnival Arts Museum

Reserve your Visit

Expand

This unique place, a real museum of funfair created by Jean Paul Favand houses in the old cellars of the Bercy district one of the most important collections of fairground art and entertainment objects in the world. The public wanders through the different spaces of the Bercy pavilions : The Fairground Art Museum, the Theatre of the Marvels, the Venetians Rooms, the Sylvan Theatre and the Magic Mirror, a former ballroom of the Roaring Twenties installed this fall.

address
53 Avenue des Terroirs de France paris
75012 Paris
access
Métro Cour Saint Emilion L14
opening_times
Reserve your visit by Tel +33 1 43 40 16 22
price
From 10 to 15 €
phone_number
+33 1 43 40 16 22
website_url
http://www.arts-forains.com

Parc Zoologique de Paris

Discover 1,000 animals and 180 different animal species

Expand

The Vincennes zoo was designed by the geologist Paul Lemoine (Director of the National Museum of Natural History from 1932 to 1936). Inaugurated on 2 June, 1934 by the President of the Republic, Albert Lebrun, the zoo was built by Charles Letrosne, architect of civil buildings and national palaces. It was built according to a revolutionary concept for that time, one that aimed to present the animals without cages, on plateaus, in pits and ripraps that separated them from the public without bars. Completely redesigned in 2014, the new display of the animals is organized into five habitats (Patagonia : 7 species on 16 570 sqm, Savannah Sahel : 44 species on 45 215 sqm, Europe : 28 species on 10 800 sqm, Guyana : 67 species on 12, 530 sqm, Madagascar : 30 species on 9655 sqm).

address
306 Avenue Daumesnil
75012 Paris
access
Métro Porte Dorée L8, Saint-Mandé L1
opening_times
April to mid- October from 10 am to 6 pm and from mid-October to mid-March from 10 am to 5 pm
price
From 15 to 20 €
phone_number
+33 8 11 22 41 22
website_url
http://www.parczoologiquedeparis.fr

Château de Vincennes

An imposing fortified royal residence and fine example of medieval architecture

Expand

From a simple hunting lodge built around 1150 by Louis VII in the forest of Vincennes, it became a royal residence (country house) in 1180 during the reign of Philip Augustus. Saint Louis began to make enlargements and resided here, and even deposited a part of the Passion of the Christ relics that he bought from the Emperor of Constantinople. Four centuries later, Charles V fortified everything and dug moats that would only dry up in the 17th century. The castle was definitively abandoned as a royal residence when Louis XIV settled in Versailles (around 1670). Louis XV only stayed here for a few months and Louis XVI didn’t stay here at all. This massive castle with its 50 meter high tower is the largest fortified complex in Europe and it symbolizes the medieval architecture.

address
Avenue de Paris
94300 Vincennes
access
Métro Chateau de Vincennes L1
opening_times
From 10 am to 5 pm or 6 pm depending on the season
price
Less than 10 €
phone_number
+33 1 48 08 31 20
website_url
http://www.chateau-vincennes.fr